A negotiable self-truth

in #philosophy6 years ago

I always find it interesting listening to people I know very well speak about themselves to people that do not know them very well. There is often so much embellishment that the portrayal they give is so far removed from reality that there is almost no semblance left of the original story.

The next thing I find interesting is how they must come to terms with this gap between what they know and what they say to others. Some people are very, very good at ignoring the gap.

I wonder how it feels to say something about oneself that is far from the truth. Does it feel good when someone believes the story or does it feel bad to know that the reality of who one is and what one says they are is very different?

We have all likely padded our resume or made our job sound a little more exciting on a first date, and we have been able to justify our words due to the context involved. We have been able to say things like, it is expected to some degree, once I get the job I know I can learn, others do it, it is only a first date, nothing serious.

But is it serious when the lies get bigger and bigger and one's sales pitch is so divorced from reality one cannot even recognise themselves in the story? Perhaps this is just the new normal.

Social media is one place where it is likely that most people only post content that shows themselves in the best light. Each image is curated and filtered, each highlight broadcast and low events used to claim sympathy. It is an unreal reality. Like the scripted and edited 'reality' shows from TV. Online life becomes a cherry-picked persona.

This is of course natural as one must pick and choose what gets put on social platforms for a range of reasons. Friends will see it, employers may see it and most importantly, the poster will see it. It feels better to focus on the fun parts than the difficult.

But, this view can very quickly bleed into the walking world and colour words and actions there. Perhaps it is to maintain a consistent narrative across all areas so that the view can be managed more easily or is harder to be brought into question. Perhaps it is that one wants to 'live up to' the online persona rather than the real life person.

But, to do this one must be either narcissistic enough to not care or recognise the difference between the two or, be living in a constant state of fear of being 'caught out' for one of the lies. For those that recognise the difference, they must justify it well enough to continue the charade, perhaps for long enough until they start to believe it.

I have a member of my family like this. They can make up incredible stories to someone while I stand there and listen. They know full-well I know the lie yet, they are confident enough that I won't expose them. They are confident I think because they are family and I haven't in the past.

What is interesting with this person is however, they do not have any long-term friends as once the promises they make are discovered as impotent, all of the past stories come into question and many holes are exposed when timelines are matched up across known events. This means, the friends move on and the next target takes their place.

They are successful in what they do and have been able to talk their way into many relationships that have made them money at the expense of others. It is some kind of con. For this person, money and status are very important and outweigh any value in friendship. Once someone can not bring value, they are cut away as useless.

Perhaps this is the justification, their value on material wealth outweighs that of the relationships and therefore they can warrant treating people poorly as long as they get wealthier. These kinds of people are often viewed in society as leeches who suck value from others, cultural vampires.

Where might it lead for them though, can they maintain the internal lie also or are they actually being slowly torn apart? The member of my family is actually quite a bitter person and quite cruel in their humour but believe themselves to be witty. I think this is leakage as the internal disappointment at their own conflicts bleeds out and colours their words and actions.

I have noticed that the 'friends' are getting continually more material goods based than personality. Take away the shared hobby interests, and they would not associate with each other at all. Where does this lead in the long-run when there is no one to speak to that actually knows them?

I think this is a difficult future position as no matter how much money one has, friends are actually difficult to buy. Sure, there will be lots of other leeches crowding around, but actual friends will not be there. I think quite quickly, this would become quite a lonely experience.

Everyone has their own life to live of course and I am not here to pass judgement but, thinking about how others lead their lives helps me think about how I lead my own. Observing the lies of someone I know well and watching people lap it up reminds me of all of the times they have lied to me and all the times it has cost me in various ways and as a result, costs them in return as well.

At what point does one turn completely away from family?

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

You can choose your friends but can't choose your family. I know someone in particular who has embellished himself so much that I think he believes his own fairy tale. It is so far from the truth and I often wander why they do it. Are their lives that bad that they need to try and mask it from themselves.

Are their lives that bad that they need to try and mask it from themselves.

Their egos are that big that they can absorb the story and make it a reality to themselves perhaps. Humans go to great lengths to protect themselves even if what they protect is an illusion.

I have seen these people in my life and they are the most irritating one do you know they don't give a thought about others sacrifices their ego is not limited to their self appreciation they also hurt other people sentiments in order to tell how good they are.
These things don't matter till they are not hurting anyone else but when you don't see other person as a human being then they have no right to be known as perfect.

One term is used for them self obsessed

I had this exact conversation with the Pope last Tuesday. I taped it to put on dtube, but Kate Beckinsale broke my video camera on Wednesday while we were making a sex tape.

but Kate Beckinsale broke my video camera on Wednesday while we were making a sex tape

She has a habit of doing that I find.

Very interesting food for thought. It seems like one of the things it all boils down to is what VALUE or Values actually are from individual to individual and how they relate. I just looked into the etymology and philosophy of the word value and it's very interesting.

Where people place their values and what they are willing to do to promote or protect their values is a very peculiar predicament for many scenarios. Values apply from the most micro of dynamics to the very macro of happenings. Sometimes, it amazes me how far off the path of common sense folks often roam. Common sense isn't so common anymore!

Value has come to mean almost nothing based on what the relative comparisons in the modern day popular opinion and culture would dictate.

Where people place their values and what they are willing to do to promote or protect their values is a very peculiar predicament for many scenarios.

The lack of thought into it sets up a lot of internal conflicts that mean people have to continually negotiate and shift their held story moment to moment to maintain consistency. It is a hard life.

That's where my story is shitty..... and it's a consistent story because it's true! hahahaha But shitty is "relative!"

I think it's an interesting question to ask about their internal struggle. Of course, I don't think we can know.

I think exaggerating and boasting are common though, though not to the level that you are speaking perhaps. That level reminds me of a certain president... The normal level can likely just be accepted.

But, I'm not certain that the loss of friends really makes a huge difference over normal life. I've lost innumerable friends just to the tests of time. Someone moves, changes phones, etc, and suddenly, you never speak to them again.

That level reminds me of a certain president... The normal level can likely just be accepted.

I see him as symptomatic of a society that no longer values truth but weighs 'their version of events' very heavily. Echo chambers and algorithmic feeds amplify the noise.

I read your post very interested. I have only two real friends and in my family, I only count two more. I am not lonely, because there are a lot of 'so-called friends' around me. But I don't believe that I can count on them in bad times. Same to the family. But they did not do me any harm, so I think I will not turn away from the family.

Having few friends isn't an issue until later in life I find as finding people to talk with gets harder and many become isolated. In Finland it is common for people to have a very small and limited social network but, it is also common that people are depressed and lonely here.

I understand what you mean. Maybe when you get that old, that these friends die before you, then it can get a problem. I am 62 now and two times I changed my life completely and believe me the real friends I found in the second part of my life. But you have to allow people to get close to you.

people die, move, have falling outs. In my building there are several elderly people who crave any kind of discussion with anyone at all, even if they don't speak the same language as it is in my case.

People display fake lifestyle on social media. Some individuals go on to live the hype in real life especially in the presence of people who don't know much about them.
Personally, lies put me off. If I find out that a friend lied to me, the person just killed the respect I have for him or her.

If I find out that a friend lied to me, the person just killed the respect I have for him or her.

In the online world, the act of being caught is not significant because there is always another person of community to lie to again.

There will always be sycophants who are willing to be your friend in exchange for access to your possessions and favors. I know people like that, and I limit their interaction with me. I don't think you should be in the habit of cutting out family members, but I don't think it's unreasonable for you to set appropriate boundaries. If their actions are causing you and your family harm, then it's ok to keep them from being in a position to do so again.

For example, if they are stealing things from your house, maybe don't have them to the house. Just meet them at a public place. Just an idea.

I know people like that, and I limit their interaction with me.

Knowing it is the only way to combat it. I one is naive, they continually fall into the play.

For example, if they are stealing things from your house, maybe don't have them to the house. Just meet them at a public place. Just an idea.

This goes for many things I think. For example, If you have to spend time with some people who are difficult, set the environment to get them at their best.

If you have to spend time with some people who are difficult, set the environment to get them at their best.

Brilliant! If you end up writing a book, that should be a quote that you include.

Not only does it help you by them being less difficult, but it allows them to shine... or at least not be such a pain.

A great post, since it highlights the need to seek the truth from the perspective of reality and not appearance. The truth is not negotiated, which reminds me of this appointment, whose message is so important for our society today, especially for our young people who are influenced by the media and social networks, who want to pose an imaginary world:
"The greatest need in the world is for Men who do not sell or buy.
Men who are honest and sincere in the most intimate of their souls.
Men who do not fear to give sin the name that corresponds to them.
Men whose conscience is as true to duty as the compass to the pole.
Men who stand on the side of justice even if the heavens fall. "
Ellen White
@wfuneme

The truth is not negotiated,

I wonder at times as a lie can be acted upon making it a a self-fulfilling prophesy of sorts. We as limited creatures may never know an actual truth so we develop a narrative that fits our behaviour or wanted behaviours and act as if it is the truth. Perhaps it is the best we can ever do.

Lo grave de esto es que el grupo que tiene esa especie de bipolaridad es cada vez mayor. Te plantean una conducta, una vida extraordinaria y tienen seguidores que los admiran y en la realidad su vida es una mierda. Las redes sociales les han servido de herramienta para satisfacer esa bipolaridad. Necesitamos una especie de antídoto para reconocer a cada cual. Saludos

You got a 53.35% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94