Coming Out Of The Closet (We All Need To Do It)!

in #philosophy7 years ago

The phrase "coming out of the closest" invokes a wide range of emotions, from fear to freedom (and everything in between). Although the phrase is most commonly used to announce someone's hidden sexual preference, the term has a broader application.

Dictionary.com defines come out of the closest as:

To publicly announce a belief or preference that one has kept hidden, especially one's sexual preference (Source)

So as a heterosexual, married man who is a father of 5 kiddos, I feel confident in my sexual preference and identity, but I might need to come out of the closet with regards to my:

  • political views
  • religious worldview (or lack thereof)
  • my parenting philosophy
  • my investing strategies
  • my deepest convictions that I know go against the grain of our culture and society

I need to come out of the closest. And to be perfectly honest, you do to!

closet-426388_640.jpg

Shame = #1 Reason People Do Not Come Out Of The Closet

Shame is a painful feeling that occurs when a person does something that is viewed as dishonorable by family, friends, tradition, culture, and/or society.

Shame and the fear of rejection prevents countless people from publicly announcing their hidden beliefs, views, and preferences. The feeling of shame reinforces the idea that the hidden should remain hidden. Shame creates an environment where people most face the most important (and challenging) life events with little or no support.

I remember a young man who I met while living overseas. In Indonesia, you are required to chose an officially recognized religion on your identity card. Most young people choose the religion of their parents. This young man had done the same.

The fasting month was being celebrated and the conversation with this young man took an interesting turn. He confessed that he did not believe in God (which was in opposition to his family's beliefs and the culture of Indonesia), and that he practiced outwardly the religious ceremonies of his family in order maintain a healthy lifestyle.

This young man was a closet atheist. He had no personal belief in God, but he realized that outwardly rejecting God would cost him the life he had always know. By opening rejecting the faith of his family, he most likely would loose everything. He was not ready to count the cost.

Shame won the day!

Creating Community As People Come Out Of The Closet

There has to be a distinction between loving and respecting a person and approving of his or her decisions, beliefs, and preferences.

There are many personal beliefs and preferences that I hold that are not supported by the majority of people in the United States or the world. And it is fair to say that many people who are reading this article today are making decisions today based on beliefs and convictions that I cannot support.

But I personally believe in reconciliation (a pursuit of harmonious and right relationships). For me this is an all inclusive pursuit - physical, emotional, and spiritual. Even though my desire is that all people find complete reconciliation, my life experience and my worldview have taught me that most people will not.

Most people will never reconcile:

  • their broken relationships with family members and previous friends
  • their hatred towards their enemies and the people who harmed them
  • their purpose and meaning in life (a lot of people wander aimlessly)
  • their mistakes of the past with their need to live in the present
  • their hopes of a better future with the realities of today

But I am called to live life as a broken vessel with other broken vessels. I am called to invited people into my home home and into my life so that we can be community together. I must love those who are coming out of their closets, even when their beliefs and preferences are vastly different than my own.

Your Turn

Let's continue the conversation in the comments section.

  1. Do up have a hidden belief or perference that you do not share with other people?
  2. Does shame play a role in you not sharing about your belief or preference?
  3. Can can people who have vastly different beliefs co-exist in the same community?
  4. How do you interact with people who do not support your beliefs or preferences?

Thanks for stopping by!

@sumatranate


Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/closet-monastery-architecture-426388/

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 26 (1/24/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

@thesteemengine, it is an honor to be chosen!

You know dear friend that most people have a lot more hidden things than they reveal. It is difficult to get out of the closet especially when it comes to a deep conviction, religion or sexual orientation. For me, I have my own deep convictions, I am believer and practicing, straight and against homosexuality, but I fight for the other and its right to exist and express his point of view. In short, to get him "out of the closet"

@mimbel, you bring up a good point. How do we help others when we do not agree with them?

I believe that we can have beliefs and convictions and still help other people who are very different than us.

So true we need to come out of the closet of our fears. This is a very valid issue to bring up as most people fear for what others will think of them.

@bitdollar, I really appreciate the following:

the closet of our fears

Whether in life or on Steemit, many of us (myself included) are fearful at times to address the difficult issues.

Yea it is important to break free of those because then fear could be dictating your life and then are we really living a life we want?

It's only half to come out of closet, it's much more harder to understand that you're in the closet :)) It's very hard to understand who and where you are. It is actually a the greatest task for all life. Great article. I follow you with great interest and pleasure.

@agluck, so true. We also have to know which closet is keeping us contained. We have to know who we are and how we plan to move forward in the future.

It is sad that we still live in this world where too many people are judgmental. I was under the belief that things have changed, but I feel society is heading backwards.

@mr-neil, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

I believe that people can disagree with each other, but we need to learn how to treat each other with respect even when we have disagreements. There is definitely a problem in society. We need to decide what we are going to do to help find a solution.

I think we all have any closet to leave.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62182.25
ETH 2437.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61