The One You FeedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

 Source

 “A grandfather is talking with his grandson and he says there are two wolves inside of us which are always at war with each other. 

 One of them is a good wolf which represents things like kindness, bravery and love. The other is a bad wolf, which represents things like greed, hatred and fear. 

The grandson stops and thinks about it for a second then he looks up at his grandfather and says, “Grandfather, which one wins?” The grandfather quietly replies, the one you feed.”  

   -    Unknown

I found this parable a few years back while searching for ‘motivational’ material. I often find the impact of motivational images and quotes to be transient. They make me feel motivated for an hour or even a day, but that feeling passes and I end up in the same, unmotivated position. Unlike most motivational posts, this one has stuck with me years later. At its core, it crystallizes a struggle we all experience. The tension between who we want to be and the resistance stopping us from living up to that standard.    

The bad wolf manifests itself in many forms. Clinging to unhelpful emotions like jealousy and anger is one. Self-destructive behaviours including addiction and procrastination are others. Each of these manifestations of the bad wolf is incongruent with living a life aligned with our beliefs and values.   

The depiction of the struggle between the bad wolf and the good wolf as a war is apt. It leaves no ambiguity about the discipline and commitment required to overcome our shortcomings. Further, it acknowledges that some days our bad wolves will win out, and that’s okay. Each time we are knocked down, we need to pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, and feed the good wolf.  

The struggle itself makes us stronger, and without it, our victories and achievements would be meaningless. Today, and every day, ask yourself: Which wolf am I feeding?   

Sort:  

What a well written and thoughtful article, in my time I've found this sentiment very true and when people are churning with all the mean wolf characteristics they like themselves less and less.

Thanks for the response! I checked out your blog and followed you.

Congratulations @stripedgiraffe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I gave you ur first one cent

A very teaching post, I resteemed it!

Thanks so much! That is so kind of you! I would upvote your comment but I'm out of voting power at the moment, oops.

Nice post. I also posted this same quote on my page yesterday!

Wow, what a coincidence, I'll have to check it out!

Like the grandfarther

hello i found you on team australia and am now following - best always - David

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87