You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beautiful Choice

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

There's a lot of wisdom in this post. What you say about choice kinda reminds me of an excerpt from Sylvia Plath's Bell Jar which is basically about how this lady is standing in front of a fig tree where every fig is a different dream. She doesn't know which one to choose and the figs are slowly rotting as she decides. As we grow older it seems to be more about what we aren't doing than what we are. Your photography is beautiful and your travelling adventures sound like they really helped you grow. I love how you call it writing with light, that's beautiful. I've been striving towards balance too and finding my own way of arriving at that center point which the japanese interpret as a state called ikigai.

Sort:  

I love, love , love that particular excerpt. The first time I read it, as a teenager, I felt like I was reading about myself.

My reference to 'writing with light' is actually a quite literal translation of the word 'photography'.

photo = light
graph = write

We're so accustomed to the word that we rarely see the root of it. The act of picture-taking has become so commonplace, we only focus on the result rather than the how. Yet the element that creates the image is, in fact, light.

Now I'm inspired – perhaps I should draft a post about this. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88