You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mothers and Egos!

in #philosophy7 years ago

I am not a big fan of Nietzsche, but every parent would benefit from understanding the transformation of spirit in "Thus Spake Zarathustra." Too many "parents" believe that man is born with fully functioning moral compass.

Sort:  

I used to really enjoy Nietzsche! In fact, at one point in my life, I was going to get a tattoo to commemorate some of his teachings and the impact on me. However, the fruit his teachings bore me, was not so delicious.

"Too many "parents" believe that man is born with fully functioning moral compass."

Do you believe this not to be the case?

I think the movie "Gremlins" gives a great allogory of les a faire parenting (a post I need to work on). If morality is innate, then there would be little to no development in either religious or secular moral philosophy. The fact of their existence argues against innate morality; we don't have social capital devoted to thinking about how to eat, sleep, or breathe.

I think the worst a person can do to another is to raise a gremlin to be unleashed unto an unsuspecting society.

I would love to see your post! I will do one to compare :) In short. It goes a bit like this.

I would let my child develop his innate moral compass rather than impose my beliefs or societies on him! There is certainly innate abilities in us, which can develop with a proper environment to connect with our natural world. The problem is, that this environment is seldom, if ever, created for children in our society. So they are bombarded with dogmas and half-truths about morality thus creating the gremlin situation.

If children were able to gain thier understanding of the world directly from the source through deep connection with our natural world, I'm sure they would develop an amazing moral philosophy as many have before. (there are a few stories of children growing up in the wild raised by animals I will cite in my posts) Amazing beings with fantastic moral insights that I have learned quite a bit from and hope to learn from my children as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57932.25
ETH 2469.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37