Mothers and Egos!

Born prejudiced

We are very fortunate to have been born "prejudiced," overflowing in emotions and tendencies—all on account of our genes and environment and their combination. If we were born first and had to choose later, we would never know how to choose. Imagine having the whole gamut of human emotions, values, attitudes, and preferences circling around us like an endlessly renewed and varying sushi train. On what basis would we choose, having been born a tabula rasa? Which logic would guide our decisions? Instead, by coming into the world with feelings, prepared in advance so to speak, we then use our logic to justify our passions, predilections, and sentiments rather than to choose them.

sushi.gif

In this and the next article, I will offer some thoughts on how we get our values in the world. Let's start with our mothers and fathers!

The unconditional

The unjustified love of the parents toward their child—unjustified because they love it for no rational reason, unconditionally (as it is put)—is translated into an ego that has no reason to justify it. As it grows, the parents’ unconditional love is transformed into an unconditional love of oneself: what we call the ego. Their unconditional approval is translated into an unquestioned certainty regarding one’s superiority over others. Just like the existence of God is rarely questioned if it is taught as a fact from a very young age, so the unconditional love that the child experiences during his earliest years becomes the unquestioned and unreasonable demand for the unconditional love of everyone he encounters later in life. In this way the unconditional breeds unrealistic expectations.

What-we-call-our-ego-is.jpg

Made with Quozio.
Source: The Meaning of Life

No one compares to the first

Our mother is the first person we ever seduce. This positively intoxicating feeling of having complete power over someone leaves such a positive and indelible impression that it will last us a lifetime. Our first and ultimate seduction, however, will never be either matched or surpassed: in vain will we seek for unconditional love and acceptance in another person. (Sorry folks!)

father.gif

Stress-avoidance is reason enough

Initially, when the parent, say, puts forth a value through words or action, there is no reason to reject the value, for there is no conflict (unless the value conflicts with a value given to us by nature). So the child automatically accepts whatever is proposed. Why? Because there is already an incentive to avoid any displeasure. Conflict is perceived as displeasure. If the parent proposes something, and the child rejects it, this will lead to stress. So if the child has no reason to reject the value that is proposed and, furthermore, has a positive reason to avoid stress, then the child will automatically internalize whatever is offered it. This is, then, one of the ways in which values are generated in the young individual. One may even go so far as to say that the child actively hunts for values to internalize; that it rummages through its environment searching for available values, as if desperately looking for an identity; or perhaps it simply wants to benefit from the proven wisdom of the elders by incorporating their values; or perhaps it wants to fit in. Whatever the reason, it does seem as though young humans do more than passively internalize the values around them. A possible analogy is that of language-learning, where the child is not only passively learning whatever language happens to be spoken in its environment, but is more actively involved in the process.

The role of reward

Whenever someone is rewarded unfairly it irritates us, because this is not just a plain fact, it has normative implications. It means that we should endorse that person’s actions, his values, imitate them, imitate him, admire him. To reward an action is to sanction it. It is, furthermore, to pass a judgment. The winner has been declared: we have been the loser. The verdict has been pronounced: we have been the fool. We have spent our life in vain; our actions have been deemed a failure; our strivings declared meaningless and inconsequential; our pursuits, futile. To reward an action is to accord it with special status. We feel this conflict inside, this conflicting drive—one toward what we know is right and the other toward the action that would bring us the desired reward—and this conflict produces the negative feelings. In rewarding someone, others are encouraged to behave like him. If we were a child, without formed values, then we would immediately follow that person’s example without scruples (for the scruples—the opposite values, that is—would be lacking).

So in the case of children, who lack any values, a reward is law. It is dogma. Faced with a value that has a reward attached to it, and one that doesn't, no child would choose the latter. In adults, however, who have already formed their values, rewarding the opposite values to the ones they have embraced cannot only cause irritation but can—if we are talking about core values—lead to feelings of meaninglessness.

Curtain

This completes the (rather brief and light on argument) 10th installment of the Meaning Of Life series. In case you missed the other episodes:

Part 9: Can People Share Ownership of the Same Body?
Part 8: Against Subjectivism - Is Everything Relative?
Part 7: The Value-Laden View of Life
Part 6: I Am Therefore I Harm
Part 5: Nietzsche vs Christianity: Are Christians Nihilists?
Part 4: Can we desire death?
Part 3: Are nihilists being honest when they say life has no value?
Part 2: Does death make life meaningless?
Part 1: Is it possible to be a nihilist?

See you in the next episode!


Upvote if you liked this, and follow for more like this!


Imgur
Come join us on Discord! https://discord.gg/7qyarFD

Sort:  

It's like my dear old Mum always said, "Boy you ain't shit and you ain't gonna be shit." I look forward to telling it to my children. It helps keep realistic expectations for what life is going to give you.

Or a self-fulfilling prophecy ;)

How many parents actually love their children 'unconditionally'. I personally don't see any issues with unconditional love as you state. I would say there is a far greater problem with conditional love, related to your rewards issues.

Actual religious sentiments aside (as I'm not Christian). This quote had a powerful impact on me:

"Christ could only be born to a mother who believed she would give birth to a god."

If we treat our children as the eternal godly beings that they are, that we are. Then that is who we will come to manifest.

My approach to child raising is going to be one where I do the least amount of 'teaching' as possible. I'll attempt to provide an environment conducive to learning and pose thoughtful questions. To pretend I know is only to preserve my ego and limit the possibilities of my children surpassing my understanding.

In case you wanted to know ;)

How many parents actually love their children 'unconditionally'.

It doesn't even matter if parents love their children unconditionally, what matters is that they give the impression that they do, so children grow up expecting that kind of love from their significant other, where for instance looks or money or disease don't matter.

My approach to child raising is going to be one where I do the least amount of 'teaching' as possible.

What that means basically is that you'll let others do the teaching for you. What you said means TV, their social circles, their random friendships, their school, etc., will have a greater impact than you will. If they are born on an island with only you on it, then fine. But they won't. Instead of not teaching them, I think you ought to teach them in as neutral a way as possible. I know a mom that takes her son to as many activities as she can think of, so he can discover what he likes. Gymnastics, violin, swimming, karate, piano - you name it, he tried it. She doesn't try to enforce a particular interest of hers onto him.

But yeah that's probably what you mean anyway by "an environment conducive to learning". I have many ideas about this. One of them is: since I'm experienced now with useful vs useless activities, time management, etc., and I'm only going to get better at it, a possible solution could be this: for 6 months my child will agree to live the way I tell him, and for 6 months he can do whatever he wants. That will be an interesting experiment to try, won't it? Specifically, it will be interesting to have him compare the results himself, and see whether he prefers to do whatever he wants, or live on a more organized schedule, or a combination. Absolute strictness will just cause a reaction, but a "do what I want for half the time" sounds like a compromise, and is more likely to be accepted. I mean, the mere fact of sending him to school is a kind of lifestyle enforcement anyway. In a natural state he'd be forced to farm or hunt or help in household activities etc. Children are not, and never were, completely free of responsibilities.

"Christ could only be born to a mother who believed she would give birth to a god."

I.e. a Jewish mother! :P

"If they are born on an island with only you on it, then fine. But they won't"

I guess you don't know me very much :) This is nearly exactly what I intend for my children. ;)

"What that means basically is that you'll let others do the teaching for you. "
Absolutely correct! I, realizing I don't know very much for fact, am going to let nature be their guide and simply facilitate this learning process! I will assume no position of dogmatic authority and let them learn directly from the source. If anything they will be teaching me! I will not be enrolling them in any of our institutional creativity destroyers (school) they certainly won't be receiving any programming (t.v.) and they will have a firm understanding of the natural world before I ever introduce them to technology and Internet. They will get their education from the only immutable source, directly from nature!

"She doesn't try to enforce a particular interest of hers onto him."
Exactly this, facilitating the environment! :)

"Children are not, and never were, completely free of responsibilities."

You may be right... Though I have seen/read about many societies that presume the opposite. My goal is to give my children ultimate freedom to self-direct and create their lives. That's not to say they won't contribute, but I will never coerce or force them to do so through punishment nor reward. All rewards will be intrinsic! Just as when I was a child and was eager to assist my dad, I did not need any rewards, the reward was the relationship. This is what I will cultivate. Ultimate freedom of choice. No obligation, no 'responsibility' outside self-directed choices. I will facilitate an environment of unlimited possibility for them, so they will be able to accomplish impossible tasks!

"I.e. a Jewish mother! :P"

Haha, true. Which would make him a jew too! But regardless, the parable (if it is reality or not is irrelevant) is that he became a prominent figure simply because he was born to parents who treated him and believed as such :)

I too will treat my children as the infinite beings they are! And so shall they become!

I have had to dedicate nearly a decade of undoing the scarring my culture and parents imprinted upon me, and I have many years to go. My gift will be to not imprint any of my limiting beliefs on my children so they will be free to vastly surpass anything I believe possible. This is my sacred duty :)

Have you seen the movie Captain Fantastic? Sounds a lot like what you have in mind. Tho in the movie the dad is very actively teaching them stuff.

Oh yes! A perfect example I loved that movie. Okay, so think of that movie and it would be just about entirely different in his entire approach. The environment may be similar (though I'm aiming for non-reclusion in my approach, i.e. NeighbourGood).

His approach was a dictatorial approach to education where he merely imprinted his biases onto them through coercion! There appeared to be dissent in the group on many occasions where his kids were not interested in doing what he said, but that that was unacceptable. There was also a level of miscommunication and fear between the father and kids on many levels (this due to his dictator authoritarian fathering style). In a self-directed creative method, this would be non-existent as there would be nothing to fear or rebel against. So, while I like the idea of completely moving away from our culture and I would consider this movie a massive improvement on our current model (as juxtaposed in the movie). I would say it would bear no reflection on what I'm proposing. Further as detailed in the movie nearly all his time was devoted to imprinting his biases on his children (a very tedious task), this caused him a lot of stress which he then displaced on his kids.... All in all he had to resort back to sending his kids to cultural programming as his model failed.

I wish there were a pop-culture reference I could refer to as an example. But, I can't think of a single source that could even remotely relate to what I'm suggesting. Possibly some relation could be found in a mix between jungle-book and Pocahontas...

:)

I am not a big fan of Nietzsche, but every parent would benefit from understanding the transformation of spirit in "Thus Spake Zarathustra." Too many "parents" believe that man is born with fully functioning moral compass.

I used to really enjoy Nietzsche! In fact, at one point in my life, I was going to get a tattoo to commemorate some of his teachings and the impact on me. However, the fruit his teachings bore me, was not so delicious.

"Too many "parents" believe that man is born with fully functioning moral compass."

Do you believe this not to be the case?

I think the movie "Gremlins" gives a great allogory of les a faire parenting (a post I need to work on). If morality is innate, then there would be little to no development in either religious or secular moral philosophy. The fact of their existence argues against innate morality; we don't have social capital devoted to thinking about how to eat, sleep, or breathe.

I think the worst a person can do to another is to raise a gremlin to be unleashed unto an unsuspecting society.

I would love to see your post! I will do one to compare :) In short. It goes a bit like this.

I would let my child develop his innate moral compass rather than impose my beliefs or societies on him! There is certainly innate abilities in us, which can develop with a proper environment to connect with our natural world. The problem is, that this environment is seldom, if ever, created for children in our society. So they are bombarded with dogmas and half-truths about morality thus creating the gremlin situation.

If children were able to gain thier understanding of the world directly from the source through deep connection with our natural world, I'm sure they would develop an amazing moral philosophy as many have before. (there are a few stories of children growing up in the wild raised by animals I will cite in my posts) Amazing beings with fantastic moral insights that I have learned quite a bit from and hope to learn from my children as well.

I think a big part of growing up, though, is realizing when the parents' values are wrong. We have to reconcile what we absorbed from them in childhood with what we observe and perceive with our own eyes. Sometimes this means going through a rebellious phase, and other times it just means accepting that our parents are as limited and as ignorant as we are.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Alexander Alexis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66