A Theory on the true name of "God" (YHWH)

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Just to be clear, YHWH is no god of mine, but I believe I have discovered a hidden meaning to the name and want to share it.

YHWH has been translated in many ways. From Jehova to Yahova. From Yahweh to Yahowa. Yahuwah is also a less common interpretation and one that I believe fits me personally. However, I think the reason there are no vowels in the name YHWH is because the pronunciation for this word is different for every one- especially when coming from differing regions. Allow me to explain;

If you have ever meditated(interestingly, most of the bible takes place in the Mediterranean), you will know what it means to take a focused breath. To inhale deeply and then exhale completely. I ask you to do this right now, and pay very close attention to the sound your mouth makes.

As you inhale, you will hear a "Ya" or perhaps a "Yo" depending on how you choose to shape your lips. When you then exhale your deep breath, you will hear a "Hoo" or a "Haa" or perhaps even an "Huh" depending on your choice or perhaps your dialect. Should you exhale most of the air in your lungs, as one ought to do in order to invite more fresh oxygen into the system, then you will notice that there is an involuntary gasp for air which follows the exhale which will sound like a very light "Whu" or "Wha" etc.

It appears to me that the sacred name of God is in fact the sound of a focused, intentional breath. The type that brings an instant calmness, or deep relaxation when repeated. Not sure what the fuck that actually means at this point, but it's an observation I felt like sharing.

I am postulating that the name YHWH omits any true vowels because when pronounced(when breathing deeply), the vowels that will complete the name are different from person to person. For me, it ends up sounding like Yahuwah, but for you, it may be different.

Feel free to debunk this theory, or speculate on why the name of God in the Christian Bible may allude to meditation- or at least deep breathing.


Why I don't love you..

Sort:  

Interesting point of view. Thanks.

Have you read Umberto Eco? Considering the subjects you deal with in your writings, I'm sure you'd enjoy Foucault's Pendulum and The Cemetary of Prague, even Baudolino. He talks a lot about the Kabbalah and the search for the true name of God through the study of the bible (from an agnostic - semiotic point of view). If you hadn't heard of it, I highly recommend it.

Foucault's Pendulum sounds somewhat familiar to me, but I definitely have not read it. Perhaps it was just mentioned in something else I watched or read. Thanks for the recommendation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37