Five Days of Hell-ooooooo

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)



I take pain medication on most days. I am not addicted to pain medication because I keep a careful watch on how it makes me feel. If I find when I take one pill and I don't feel the effects like I should, I stop taking it for a few days.

If I can go a few days without pain medication then why take it at all? Good question.

When I first became sick (yes, I am lumping all of it under just sick) the Doctor I was seeing did not believe in pain medication. To be able to get out of bed and feel somewhat human, I started playing video games.



Some games were more design games as seen below.



Other games were more World of Warcraft and similar type games.



I will never forget the first game I ever played and played and played.

Farm Town.


No, not FarmVille but Farm Town.



Farm Town was a game that never slept. It was the first game I played where you could interact with people from all over the world. I loved it. I would get hired to harvest their crops and in turn, would get a portion of the crops and money from picking the crops.

When I first started playing Farm Town it was more of a social game than anything. Everyone only had one farm. That one farm only had so many squares of crops to harvest. Most people would hire more than one person to help harvest. Some people split the crops even and others not so much.

The cool thing was you could live chat with people and my first question was always, "Where are you from?"

Even back then I had problems sleeping. I would be awake when the other side of the world was. I was able to meet people from Indonesia, Thailand, England, and so on.

It became a funny joke with friends. They would ask me what countries I had been to that day. Me being me, I told my friends my stories of what countries I visited that day.



Gaming helped me concentrate on something fun to do. It helped put the feeling of extreme pain to the background. It how I survived for years when no Doctor could figure out all that was wrong with me. I owe a lot to gaming.



Many of you know for the last four to five months I have been feeling worse than ever. I know what has been going on yet I have not wanted to face facts. I still don't.

One of the items on my "To-Do list" has been to go get a blood test. It was scheduled six months ago. I never went. I know what it is going to say. Yes, I was being a baby and thinking that if I do not see it in writing it's not real.

A few months ago my Mom came down with a rare blood disease. Finding this out sent me into a bad tailspin. Mom wasn't doing much better.

I canceled my wish, a far fetched one I will admit, to win a trip to SteemFest 3 and booked a flight to Florida where I landed today.


The Worst Airport Breakfast Ever



Five days ago I ran out of pain medication. Five days that I HAD to get stuff done so I could be gone from home for 3 weeks. I had my Plain Jane CBD joints but they only help so much. I still have high hopes for CBD, yet right now, they are not the total answer.

Five days. No pain medication because my Doctor on Friday had had enough of my insubordination (his wording). I could not get any more pain medication until I had a blood test done. I found this out on Friday late afternoon. The blood test I needed to take was a 12-hour fasting one.

My plane left for Florida Monday morning at 7:30 AM.



Saturday I woke up and headed over to get blood drawn. It was the last day to be able to get it done before I left the State I live in. Throw in my insurance covering the cost for the test too.

I now needed to wait until Monday morning at 8 AM to call the Doctor. Let him know I took the blood test and needed the medication sent to Florida. All fine and dandy but I would be in the AIR flying on a plane at 8 AM.



So how did I get all the stuff I needed to get done if I was in so much pain? I played a freaking lot of Gods Unchained.

I would play long enough that the pain would become less. Runoff and look for new glasses at a store. Come home and play Gods Unchained again. This was the last 4 days before today. I had laundry, cleaning, packing and maybe a tiny bit of feeling very sorry for myself to do.

You don't believe I played that much? I have proof. It is nothing to be proud of if you just look at the stats for the weekend wins and loses yet those stats me so much more to me.



Those stats meant that the laundry was finished. Bags where packed. Electronics with all the freaking cords packed. Clothes laid out. Plane tickets checked in 24 hours before the flight and I talked to my husband too. 😻

What it also shows is how much pain I was in. Even with losing 87 games I still kept playing. It was the only way anything was going to get done.

Here I will thank my husband for helping me out too. He saw how the pain etched its way into my face deeper and deeper each day. I didn't have ANY relief from the pain for five full days.

I played Gods Unchained for the only relief I found in 5 long days.

If not for a video game I never would have been able to do the small amount that I did.



Six phone calls to Doctors and Pharmacies I was finally told the pain medication was ready to be picked up. I drove Mom's car to the pharmacy. Finally bag in hand I went back out into the parking lot to go home to get some relief for the pain.

and.......

I could not find where I parked her car. 😹

I walked up and down a Walmart parking lot for over 15 minutes looking for her car. Her white car. I could not take the pain meds because I had to get myself and the car home.



I finally broke down and called my Mom. She asked me where I was. I told her I lost her car in the parking lot. That everyone has a white car in Florida. She then told me that her car wasn't white it was silver. I found the car in the next 30 seconds and drove home.



There is not a moral to this story unless you can find one. 🙀

Can You?



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Love,

Snook



All photos are my own unless otherwise stated.

Gif found here



Ecoinstant has made his own token called INCOME token! based off of Units of SBI. You can read more about it in his post basic INCOME daily draw for 10/27/2019



Steem Witness's I support

Enginewitty!, Jackmiller!, Guiltyparties!, C0ff33a / Deranged!

Sweet footer made by @enginewitty!

Sort:  

@snook,

There is not a moral to this story unless you can find one. 🙀
Can You?

Yes actually... we are human, my friend. You know I understand where you are coming from... I hate even talking about pain management, for fear others might think I am a druggy... But I also have Multiple Sclerosis, and I DON'T like to hurt... To me, the moral of this post is your being brave enough, to come forward that you have health issues, and have found a way to try and deal with them, as well as pain, by playing video games... win, win!! I have been very "away" myself, dealing with my Multiple Sclerosis, so I hope you are doing better today!

@alliedforces curate

Thank You!! I know you understand and yes, talking about what we REALLY do to make it through a day is scary. You always are waiting for the people that have never lived it to try and help you. They mean well but it's not the same......

Sending lots of hugs your way!!! Bad time of year for pain...........

20191031_133931-01.jpeg
Galaxy S9 - Strawberry Vanilla Hydrangea

Much love to you my friend!!

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 97.45%

moral of the story... well... never search for a white car when it's silver and be proud you spelled insubordination correctly.

And you BETTER be looking after business when you get back home.

it's already booked... and on my phone :D

Tough times indeed, glad everything worked out in the end, although a pita. You are a fighter, and that's what we do. When you're down, you pick your ass up off the floor and get ready for another round. Hope your day is going well down there.

You are a fighter, and that's what we do

I was only awake 4 hours today LOLL

I took care of 'home' problems and slept.......I have never slept so much ever and going back to bed in about 10 minutes LOLL

but yes, WE are fighters. it's all we know to be to survive.

137 matches? Shit sis. I barely got in 40. I think I would have punched the doc if he said I was insubordinate. Fuk you asshole, what, am I your fukn slave? I'm paying you mutha fukr, get me my shit. Just sayin. 😎

I think I would have punched the doc if he said I was insubordinate.

if he would have been in front of me I would have done more then that..........
the good? though is after 5 days I found out how really BAD I am..........

Life huh? just keeps getting better and better.

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE

Thank You!

Hearing your pain saddens me and i wish I could make it all go away. I feel so helpless, well i send you love and peace that you find it 🤗😘

I was awake 4 hours today..........

so your peace found me and I'm ready to go back to sleep!!!

Love You!! HUGS

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @wesphilbin.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thank You!

Well, in India, you can just walk to a store and buy medicines even without a doctor's prescription. What sickness you are suffering from ? May be try some natural medicines or Ayurveda from India for a long term healing ?

yeah, we can not do that here.....

and when I get back home this will start getting back on track to get me 'fixed'

thank you for your kindness!!

Congratulations @snook! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 33000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

The end of your post made me laugh...there's no moral unless I can find one. I hate that you're in so much pain, but I'm so glad you have ways to cope. Your husband is great! Also...I've lost my mom's car in a parking lot too. Everyone in Ohio drives red cross-overs...everyone.

you feel so helpless and dumb....

I lost your car........

LOLL

HUGS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39