Ubuntu Now: Have A Slice of Skra's World Views

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)

I'm turning a recent comment of mine into a post because why not right? I'm not sure whether I'm just that great of an engager, @chekohler has super inspiring and thought provoking content, or maybe I'm just an egomaniac that thinks his ramblings should be broadcast far and wide, I'll assume all of the above.

My interpretation or take away from the post that is on the surface about capitalism, is that knowing stuff can indeed cause one to feel isolated and perhaps even crazy. Especially, when intermingling with the indoctrinated closed minded masses..

My post worthy musing 👇

It's worth noting that having a decent grasp on the geopolitical sphere and socioeconomics mechanisation's can make one feel like a crazy person, because well there is no shortage of illogical twisted manipulations within those systems. Nobody ever said, getting nearly 8 billion, soon to be 10 billion people that think they have unique needs and wants, when in actuality we all want the same things to function adequately would be an easy undertaking

I mean that's a helluva goal to just have a civilization that can meet the most base level survival necessities, water, shelter and food for it's inhabitants.

Realising that we as a society are failing to provide these very basic things makes the attainment of decent healthcare, education, technology, public works, and wealth distribution the stuff of fantasy..

We as a species have not yet been able to grasp or realise the golden rule.You know that core concept that is intrinsic to every valued ideology since the dawn of civilization. Do unto others as you would have done unto you. It's so simple and yet seemingly impossible to implement this idealistic, compassionate approach to life within the frameworks of our society.

What we all need is Ubuntu now.. If you're unaware Ubuntu is:

Ubuntu philosophy. ... Ubuntu (Zulu pronunciation: [ùɓúntʼù]) is a Nguni Bantu term meaning"humanity." It is often translated as "I am because we are," or "humanity towards others," but is often used in a more philosophical sense to mean "the belief in a universal bond of sharing that connects all humanity."

Taken from Wikipedia

An ancient spin on this is the quiche Maya saying "in lak'ech ala kin" which roughly translates into-i am another you anything I do that helps you, helps myself, anything I do that hurts you, hurts myself..

I don't think this is a crazy utopian vision or delusional it's just something I think we should all strive for and who knows, maybe we'll have a functional society that realises it's only as strong as it weakest links someday sooner than later..

For now we're still arguing about the shape of the 🌍 Earth.. Obviously, it's pizza shaped and the best parts have pineapple. Let's argue about stuff !

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I turned a long chat message I posted on Telegram into a post here recently, well, part of it anyways.

One person in the TG group decided it was 'spam' and deleted it.. Oddly enough, it was in the STEEM group, so much for anti-censorship?
I'm random, opinionated, but I can't recall the last time anyone called me spammy, until then..

Not only that, the post, which includes this aforementioned 'spam' is now my highest paying post.. assuming it pays out what it's currently earned..

But anyways, enough about that lame group of people.
Why did I mention this here? You reminded me about turning casual comments into a blog post. I do it quite often actually! I'll post something in a chat then copy it and stuff it in a draft for tweaking and using later.. LOL


On topic:
Most of what you say is post worthy musing though..

The pagan religion Wicca, well I'd not so much call it a religion it's more a spirtual belief, but it follows a pretty basic fundamental we call 'the Wiccan Rede' which basically means 'do unto others as you would have them do unto you' and also have a strong belief in karma - without an 'H' ;) - which as you know, everything you do comes back to you threefold. Good and Bad.

Take care of mother earth, the Universe, and your neighbor the same way you would take care of yourself.

How did we get so far away from such simple but straight forward thinking?


Maybe I wasn't on topic at all, but I haven't slept yet and I forgot to get sugar for my tea so I'm getting cranky and tired, apologies for this ramblings.

I'm cranky and tired too, but I have a mean cup of chai cacao and it's Friday, thank god.

Big up the oneness xx

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

If only it were that simple again. At one time neighbors helped neighbors, communities helped those in need. Now, with the insinuation of government into every aspect of our lives, we look to governments to solve our problems.

No longer does the townsfolk come to the aid of a person who loses their home and possessions to fire, the insurance handles it. The widow who has trouble feeding her children no longer depends on the kindness and thoughtfulness of neighbors to sustain her until she once again gains her footing. Instead she gets government assistance and becomes dependent.

If we just start caring for each other and seeing the government as an outside entity, maybe we could bring some humanity back into being humans. Are we too far gone to reclaim our humanity on a grand scale? I know some see the picture but sadly, most do not.

I haven’t abandoned all hope just yet. I try to find the silver linings in our calloused existence.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hear Hear! I do my small part everyday...maybe pick up a convert or two along the way . Great song

The reason, that when I'm forced to box myself, that I identify myself as a Humanist based on the two simple principles as you have stated above that one can do anything they wish with the caveat that the net reaction to one's action is a positive effect on others and secondly that a community should be judged on the way it treats its weakest members hence Steemit being an epic failure in this regard.

Good morning from blustery England mate :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

A humanist seems like a fitting conscription.

We need more of those indeed.

Pretty poor track record in this ecosystem in regards to the treatment of our weakest constituents, I agree.

Blustery ! Fall is in the air up there eh, enjoy that perfect football weather. I could stand a bit of blustery right about now. Not too much though. Enjoy all the blighty things, which I just learned is from an Urdu word.

I always assumed it was because you guys were naturally a bit mildewed and prone to rot haha 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

If we could just get everyone the basics of life and then move up from there.

Posted using Partiko Android

That would be an even more giant leap forward for mankind than walking on the moon !

Posted using Partiko iOS

Indeed and far more needed.

Posted using Partiko Android


Congratulations @skramatters!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Ahhahahahahha definetly has pineapple chunks ...
Earth CGI nasa cant be real , soooorry .. flat disk fakely drew to destroy the truth of earth being a plane of inertia , sucks .
But we would need to argue with more than comments that would turn into books for these types of subjects ...right ?
So much so much so much ... too much

I don't think we have an equivalent in the West, which is telling, isn't it? Unless it's something like 'we are one' which sounds like a cliched nationalistic jingle, only because Australia has one 'I am, you are, we are, Austrayylllllllllliiiiiiiiiiiiia' - but the sentiment is nice I suppose. We tend to dismiss 'oneness' as hippy bullshit, but it's seriously about doing unto others what you'd have done to you, and loving thy neighbour, and just being compassionate fucking human beings, which I am struggling to see right now, so I need to get off the internet. Big love xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65