You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SILENT GRIEF

in #philosophy5 years ago

Very recognizable. I find it difficult to deal with any kind of (negative) emotions, but grieve is definitely the worst.

No matter what you say or do (or don't say or do) is meaningless. I speak from personal experience. I have been on the grieving side way too often. And even though condolences and words of support or understanding are nice gestures, I've always considered them to be nothing more than politeness, social conventions. I've shaked hundreds of hands, received just as many hugs, and with every single one I wondered if that so called 'symphaty' actually made a difference. It never did. To me, the people that actually made a difference were the ones sitting in the back row during the ceremony, sneaking out before the theatrical part starts. The ones that come to show their respect, but don't have the need, or feel obligated to try to let me know how very sorry they are, or how things will be okay or - even worse - that it will hurt less after a while. Because it doesn't. You just learn how to live with the pain.

Every time I was the grieving one, and had to cope with all those different ways people deal with the grieve of others, it became more difficult for me to be on the other side.

I don't have a clue what to do or say, because in my experience, there's nothing that can comfort someone at that moment. Like you say, I'd love to be able to be one of those people that acknowledge the grieve, but also make clear that the world hasn't stopped turning and that life goes on.

But I'm not even sure I know how to do that.

I refuse to follow social conventions, because they're empty gestures. I don't want to add anything to the pile of emotions someone has to deal with already. So I turned into one of those people who keep their distance and blink my eyes or nod to show that I understand and that I'm there.

I don't know how others feel about that, but it's the best I can do. I only know it was something I always appreciated...

Sort:  

It is what I would prefer. The constant chatter can be painful to listen to. I just avoid going to places of bereavement. I just cannot deal with all the emotions. As you said, it feels fake to me, politeness and people just going through routine behaviour. That nod, that blink, that silent support, is everything.

Thanks for stopping by and for your comment too. I appreciate this a lot.

Thank yóu for the great post. It's always comforting to find out other people are struggling with the same things

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38