An Officer's Take: Social Justice and the Failure of Quantitative Policing

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

[Disclaimer: Due to my Department's restrictive internal disciplinary policies regarding their personnel's expression of personal opinion, certain details and aspects of my background have been intentionally redacted from this story.]

I am a New York City Police Officer.

Back in the 2000s, I was a freshly minted rookie. New equipment, shiny handcuffs; I can still recall the smell of my brand new leather gun belt. I was, as I still remain, an idealist. During my 6 months in the Police Academy, I learned about different aspects of law, psychology, and police ethics. I was shown how to properly write a summons, how to recognize an "arrest situation", and how to approach intimate family disputes that had escalated to the point of police intervention. Curiously, I was never taught about arrest and summons quotas.

At this point, I'd like to veer this discussion and incorporate some of Plato's insights from his famous masterpiece, "The Republic". Plato theorized that a society can only achieve a pure state of justice when its citizenry, whom he divided into three subsets (The Producers, The Auxiliaries, and The Guardians), work and live cohesively while simultaneously pursuing their own purposes and goals. Therefore, according to Plato, social justice is only equal to the sum of its parts. If one of these parts is missing or inadequate, social justice cannot exist.

After graduating the academy, I was assigned to a foot post in East Harlem patrolling Housing Developments. Upon walking into my assigned precinct on the first day, I was approached by the Training Officer, who said, "Two and Five". No introduction, no advice, just a quota and an expectation; two arrests and five summonses. He briskly walked away before I could even open my mouth. Immediately, I had been confronted with a moral dilemma from the most unexpected source; the very Department I had joined to "make a difference" and "help people". After officially being assigned to "Operation Impact", and having absolutely no policing experience whatsoever, I was ordered out to my nightly foot post (with my rookie partner) and ordered to write as many summonses as possible.

East Harlem was, and still is, an overwhelmingly African American Community. And, as I'm sure you've gathered from the news during the past five years, communities like this one reached an irrevocable point of being over-policed, especially when it came to petty offenses (which have a tendency to be overlooked in more affluent neighborhoods). Sixteen and seventeen year-old kids were arrested for trespassing in their own housing developments, or for drinking a beer outside without proper identification. There was even a point in the late 2000s and early 2010s when residents were being stopped daily or weekly by the police in their own buildings. Driven by the NYPD's Compstat program (1), "Operation Impact" was, in the end, a huge contributor to the current state of backlash the law enforcement community is now privy to on multiple fronts. Moreover, it was during this time of increased scrutiny on arrest and summons quotas when, I believe, the NYPD lost sight of what its mission actually was(or should have been): protecting the public and responding to emergencies.

During my time in Operation Impact, I quickly grew used to the routine harassment I'd receive from certain supervisors if I had failed to make an arrest that particular month, or failed to write the expected number of summonses. It's not that I didn't want to do my job, it's just that I refused to accept that I couldn't use my discretion to deal with petty offenses and minor infractions as I saw fit. The job wanted "activity", otherwise known as arrests and summonses. All I wanted was to do my job to the best of my ability and be able to look at myself in the mirror at the end of everyday. So I did just that.

The NYPD's leadership clearly became obsessed with quantitative policing; the concept of evaluating a Police Department's efficacy by its production of arrests and summonses. It was a system setup for failure. And fail it did. Therefore, being that we now know that quantitative policing simply does not work under most circumstances, it is therefore imperative that it be replaced by a much more qualitative approach. While arrests and summonses will always be part of the law enforcement profession, they should be much further down the list than say, community involvement, deterrence, and actual prevention of crime. I, for one, think that many Departments around the country have started to gravitate in the qualitative direction, leaving the quantitative model behind. The NYPD, being an antiquated bureaucracy with approximately 30,000 uniformed members, may take longer than most. This is not to say that the efforts currently underway do not show promise, such as the "Neighborhood Policing Program", a program that depends heavily on the community's investment in improving their own streets. Only time will tell.

This brings me back to Plato and his definition of social justice; we as a society are only as good and just as the sum of our parts. Operation Impact failed. Quantitative policing has also failed. While I am cautiously optimistic that we are heading in the right direction, there are still so many issues that need to be addressed (that will be discussed in further articles).

Credit for photographs to Antonio Bulfo. Thanks for reading.

"Let's keep this on the low-down."
"You mean the down-low."
"No doubt".

(1) Compstat Program- Conjunctive name for "Computer Statistics", adopted during the late 1990s in New York City as a way of keeping track of and attempting to combat crime throughout the five boroughs.

imgres-2.jpg

imgres-5.jpg

imgres-4.jpg

imgres-3.jpg

images.jpg

imgres.jpg

imgres-1.jpg

Sort:  

Great post, thank you.

This part hit home with me:

While arrests and summonses will always be part of the law enforcement profession, they should be much further down the list than say, community involvement, deterrence, and actual prevention of crime.

Glad it did! Thanks for reading!

What a great piece. When an institution is no longer capable of criticizing itself and it's performance, it's dire straights indeed. It is probably no surprise to you that the "thin blue line" mentality is seen by many of us civilians as detrimental, not because of the solidarity it provokes, but because of the complete insulation from criticism it engenders.

My father in law was an officer here in the Midwest until he fell through a roof, shredding his hamstring and forcing early retirement. And he was a good cop. He is genuinely a decent person, and was a great example of a public servant. But he can sit there now, and watch/absorb accounts of obvious police wrong doing, and argue with you until he is blue in the face about how they took all proper steps, and that the danger they face necessitates whatever action is in question. I mean, it'll be totally obvious to everyone else in the room, but you will pretty much never ever catch him admitting any wrongdoing or negative behavior by police ever.

That steadfast refusal to be introspective, and critical of the institution is frightening to us civilians. So I recognize, and greatly appreciate your critical review of the institution.

I sincerely hope you stay on the job, and continue to work within the system to enact some of the reforms the system so badly needs. Thank you, for your service, and for your insight.

Thank you for this feedback, it is greatly appreciated. And glad you enjoyed the piece. I have to admit as well, that sometimes it is difficult for even the most educated and experienced of cops (including myself) to evaluate a situation from a perspective other than our own. Please feel free to leave more meaningful feedback down the road, I enjoyed reading your comment.

I am happy to see this kind of post, we need more of them. It has become trendy to hate on cops just because they are cops. I understand where the hate comes from, but they need to understand they SYSTEM is more of a problem than the police themselves. Sure there are some hardons who enjoy violating peoples rights etc, but the vast majority of them are just regular people stuck in a machine that forces them to do as they are told or find a new job.

Agreed. Empathy is a two-sided coin for sure. Part of the reason I felt inclined to start posting here.

BTW, I would love to see you write something about civil asset forfeiture.

Just put it on the list! Thanks for reading.

Really interesting read, it's crazy to hear this kind of stuff from a first hand source like yourself. I'll be following you and looking forward to your future posts!

Thanks I'm glad you enjoyed reading. More to come!

I appreciate you taking the time and writing your experiences. My problem with "law" enforcement is that you agree to enforce all manner of laws, and from your experience you basically admitted to doing such, regardless of right or wrong. To you it might seem like something that we can agree to disagree on but laws which define crimes without a victim, are wrong, immoral and don't protect anyone. If you stop someone driving drunk, that's great, there was potential harm to others, but if you basically kidnap someone for drinking without an id it's wrong, always.

I don't see any reason that cops should be patroling for crimes, any more than we have the ambulances looking for accidents or the fire department paroling for fire, nor do I see any evidence that tickets make people drive more carefully or considerably, and in spite of policing the streets there are many places that have fewer accidents and no cop presence.

Police should be tasked with investigating and reporting to crimes just like firefighters, except there should not be a monopoly on who can respond or investigate, it should be ok for others to do thes things, and arguably do it better as for one, police chiefs have admitted numerous times that there are IQ limits for police, which doesn't promote "investigating" at all, while you have admitted that you were basically praying and targeting a low income black community, instead of responding to crimes.

Police have their roots steeped deep into the same practices and methods that their predecesors, the Slave Catching Patrols did, and a constant rigidity to be above the law, while at the same time tasked with enforcing the law, which many hardly can know. Just a couple months ago some cops were telling me on my own property that it wasn't my own property, they were that ignorant as to not recognize my own property, or bother to examine that proof, and that is indicative of the ineptitude of "we don't make the laws" they left and I think they had realized that when my neighbors were trying to claim the easement that was for them, as their property.

To close, seeing how cops are always ok with enforcing immoral and unjust laws, which don't protect the innocent only make criminal, actions that harm nobody, I find it hard to believe that they have a meaningful purpose, as they hardly catch 1% of the crimes in progress, and a lot of time, those "crimes" aren't hardly crimes without a victim, while there's plenty of departments that have admitted and the courts have upheld the right to discriminate based on IQ limits, raising the questions of why and how does that help in investigating crimes if you refuse to hire people of higher intelligence?

Thank you for the feedback and response. Educational standards are certainly an issue that need to be addressed.

Educational standards isn't what I said, and I didn't speak about education at all.

I explained how what you do is immoral, and you have basically admitted to that in the post itself, I have pointed out that there is no meaningful purpose to "patrol" any more than there is for firefighters to do that, and pointed out that almost nothing has changed since slave catching days of Slave Patrols, which are the predecessors to cops.

You don't have to agree with me, but education is not the problem here, here the problem is people who are chosen on a standard that doesn't promote investigation, by limiting the IQ, by an organization that has always been above the law, which practices the very same discriminatory and racist policies that their predecessors have done, and there is no sign of a "reform".

All that exists is the the public outcry, the ostracized ex cops and ex commissioners and ex chiefs, amidst rampant criminal behavior in every large district, and the smaller ones from my experience aren't that much better, I remember reading an article when I lived in Nor Cal about one officer that enjoyed immunity and his sun turned out to be exactly like his meth head father that would steal people's meth and get high, and he was busted for the nth time and was still allowed back on the force.

I am aware that cops protect cops, even from pedophilia, as do judges and their buddies the DA, it's definitely a US vs Them, those that speak against such things get shitcanned, the disclaimer at the top of the post is there for a reason... while it's been mentioned before how cops have a hard time seeing anything that cops do as wrong, this is telling as you've addressed "education" instead of "iq limits for cops".

Again, your feedback appreciated. It doesn't sound like there is anything I can say to alter your opinion. Thank you for taking the time to read anyway!

That's a cop out there, as you can point out what is wrong with my opinion, why and how it's wrong, not simply that you have a desire to alter it.

To have one of NYPD officer's here in the community could be very fascinating. Keep doing a good job and become the guardian that Plato describes. Resist doing quotas. Just be a good and trustworthy guardian.

Will continue trying to do so, thanks for reading.

Plato was the best in history to speak about social structure, justice and social values, great you acknowledged him in your post !

This was an absolutely riveting read. A lot of times I just end up skimming the article, but this I read from top to bottom. Thanks for sharing your perspective and I look forward to hearing more of what you have to say on the subject of policing and in general! Upped and Followed.

Thanks! More content to come!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43