You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A thought experiment for dealing with stress

in #philosophy6 years ago

I have actually been thinking about this topic quite a bit.

One of my favorite mindfulness meditations is by Alan Watts.

Part of it is, I am partial to his voice. I think that he has a very present presence if you know what I mean lol

A lot of it I think comes down to the fact that when we are children we spend a lot of time thinking about what is life going to be like when we are older. We spend a good portion of our lives trapped in our own minds and imagining a world that we haven't yet experienced. As we get older and as we experienced trauma or other events that affect us deeply they pull us back into the present. This is sometimes a good thing and other times not so good, depending on the situation

As we get pulled into the present common a lot of time that reality does not match what we had imagined it would be.in our younger years, that creates the beginnings and the trappings of cognitive dissonances.

If you imagine it on a timeframe as it were a pendulum swinging back-and-forth, my theory is that the more time you spend fixated imagining how the future might be or creating dialogs in your brain to explain things that you were only 1st experiencing you swing all the way to 1 side 1st a little bit and then more drastically. To get pulled back to the present you will actually surpass the present and go into the future which will make you look behind yourself, figuratively speaking.

To get back to the present then you must look backwards and you'll start swinging the other way again. In doing this you sort of go all the way to one spectrum and then to the other and then back to the other and so on and so on. Getting back to the present which is that middle point that you're on, the middle of the road, when you are wildly swinging from the past to the present it's hard to maintain that stabilizing little force without veering yourself of course which then, essentially that's when people go crazy. I still haven't got a good dialog for it but it's the thoughts that have been jumbled around in my head. It's a little bit easier to explain it vocally and I was thinking perhaps I should just do that on a video or something. Maybe I'll get around to figuring out D tube one of these days lol

In any case, I really like the post that you have here and I resteemed in upvoted. I'm not a 100% so that doesn't come out as much...

I think it's definite food for thought and you got a great job of summing up a lot of the concepts. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

WOW I can make a good post just from your comments alone :P
I agree with the things you said, and that's why I said in the thoughts experiment that the goal is not to plan the future but to have a better sense of clarity and maybe somewhat connect with reality (present if you would like to call it). I really like Allan Watts way of describing his philosophy and also Akhart Tolle's, that's why I can be in sync with your words.

Thank you for reading, upvoting and resteeming it means a lot! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50