You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ultimate Reality Is That Which Has No Outside

in #philosophy6 years ago

God doesn't lose independence by manifesting everything. Kṛṣṇa, the Supreme Personality of Godhead, said in Bhagavad-gītā,

BG 7.12: Know that all states of being — be they of goodness, passion or ignorance — are manifested by My energy. I am, in one sense, everything, but I am independent. I am not under the modes of material nature, for they, on the contrary, are within Me.
Www.vedabase.io/en/library/bg/7

Sort:  

That's fine, that still agrees with my premise the ultimate reality is that which has no outside. Going off the "are within me" part

The Vedas describe ultimate reality as having an impersonal omnipresent aspect (Brahman) and an personal omnipresent aspect (Paramātmā), but ultimately is a person who is the origin of reality (Bhagavān).

SB 1.5.20: The Supreme Lord Personality of Godhead is Himself this cosmos, and still He is aloof from it. From Him only has this cosmic manifestation emanated, in Him it rests, and unto Him it enters after annihilation. Your good self knows all about this. I have given only a synopsis.
Www.vedabase.com/en/sb/1/5

Experience includes both true and false concepts, but only truth is in the form of Bhagavān. Brahma-saṁhitā states:

BS 5.32: I worship Govinda, the primeval Lord, whose transcendental form is full of bliss, truth, substantiality and is thus full of the most dazzling splendor. Each of the limbs of that transcendental figure possesses in Himself, the full-fledged functions of all the organs, and eternally sees, maintains and manifests the infinite universes, both spiritual and mundane.
Www.vedabase.com/en/bs/5

Being full of truth means having no place for falsehood, which is maintained apart from Bhagavān. False concepts are in Him the like you're in the Sun when exposing your body to sunshine.

While I appreciate the explanation. I like to separate the concept around the ultimate reality of the world and religion (Hinduism). Firstly because many subscribe to the automatic model of the world and do not care for religion, secondly those that do have more so gravitated to monotheistic religions, and thirdly because spirituality is the underlying basis of religion and much more important. I'd say if I'm anything, I'm a mystic

I've never identified as Hindu. I don't think of the Vedas as Hindu. It's as though looking at the moon in between the branches of a tree. The tree appears situated between some branches only because of a distant perspective. This is a concept the Vedas call taṭastha-lakṣaṇa, which means "marginal characteristics."

The last semester of my university education was classes exclusively yoga and mysticism. I was just thinking a few weeks ago about the my textbook for the mysticism class, which was authored by Evelyn Underhill. It was worth reading, even though I don't identify as Christian. The essential goal of yoga is personal spiritual experience.

Yeah I am not hindu either, but I feel there is something to be learned from Hinduism like many religions there is wisdom. I'd actually put myself under mysticism separate from catholic or even religious mysticism

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35