ONE SIMPLE GOAL

in #philosophy6 years ago

This has been a consuming thought over the years, so I share it to hopefully encourage you.


Simply put, each minute that passes us by will never return. Often we can see where others have ended up, and it is frequently how they spent their minutes prior to where they now are that plays a role. For better or worse, it can be a true story.

HOW TO LIVE LIFE... A SIMPLE THOUGHT

Time and time again, as I interact with those from previous generations, one thing that pops up is regret. There seem to be a lot of things that others would have done differently back in their day. This is interesting to contemplate.

Part of the "problem" with people is that we have become too short sighted. Often we are so concerned about today, tomorrow, or this weekend that we don't think very far into the future. There are a lot of variables in life and a lot of factors to take into consideration, but ultimately we all only have one chance at this.

What will be your regrets as you lie on your deathbed? Will you wish that you would have spent more time watching television? Will you dream of how your life would have turned out if you only would have spent more time at the office? Seriously, what will you regret? Once you figure that out, then decide on what you are going to do about it now to set your self up to miss out on all that regret.

You see, I desire one thing, but it takes concentration and effort. To put it simply:

I want to live my PRESENT

so that in the FUTURE

I will not regret my PAST.

It will be the things in our past that lead to where we end up in the future, and the only tool that we have to try to fix it is the present. I know my goals and my desires, and I am on a constant task of living out my present in the best way I can to hope for the future. I do not always succeed, but at least I am thinking about the future.

It is my hope that this will add some fuel to your fire, and encourage you to think more long-term. Life is kind of like a choose your own adventure game, so choose wisely!

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
Loading...

I want to live my PRESENT

so that in the FUTURE

I will not regret my PAST.

What a great deep words to reflect on.

Hey! This one is powerful and inspiring. I also today got out of the bed kind of a grumpy a bit but then i realized there is no reason for that, to waste time feeling like that so i switched quite fast

Amen to that. You will not regret not spending more time being grumpy when you get older!

Thanks @edgarsart! I'll see what you've been up to. Your stuff always impresses me!

Yea no reason for all that

Because the future is bright if you flan towards it

Lovely one... And good thing you realised and quickly made the switch...

It would have probably disrupted your mood the whole day...

Thank you for this @papa-pepper, I was reflecting myself while reading your blog. So true, because for my situation I was stagnant for a year, doing nothing. But now, I opened my mind to think for my future. Asking myself why am I doing on the past years. That phrases "I want to live my PRESENT
so that in the FUTURE
I will not regret my PAST.
"
This is so inspiring.

That is amazing. It's always nice to see people relate to things and apply it. Forward it the only way to go, and it is so nice to see you decide that. I wish you all the best. You will be fine.

Thank you so much @olawalium for your kind words.Yeah, I decided to move forward fory better future. Steemit will help me to make it happen.

Definitely, and it is really nice having you here. You look amazing too.

I think that phrase is simple and powerful, and we would all do well to consider it. Thank you @gerel!

Hmmn
This is very motivational.
You will ever remain a beacon of hope to me. This you shared got me thinking and calling me to be sensitive and do the needful. It's a good way start the day.
I shouldn't regret in the future - my wish after reading this piece

Good morning from here in Nigeria

I am glad that you like it! It is almost midnight here, so I can still say "Good night from the Ozarks!"

Very good motivation. I do not always succeed, at least I have thought or prepared for my future. I am very impressed with these words. Stop wasting time while having a chance. Always in doing good, for we will surely end our journey even though we never know it when, but it is certain. Thank you for making us more excited. You always give us the best example. May always be successful for you @papa-pepper.

You always give us the best example.

If I am to be an example, I hope that it is a good one!

Yes always give a very good example of @papa-pepper.

I want to live my PRESENT
so that in the FUTURE
I will not regret my PAST

This truly made me to think so deep to see if am truly living my present well in order not to regret in the future.

It is a good thing to consider!

Simple goals are the best... great advice!

Yeah, I need to keep it simple!

I am living in the future of my past presently regretting the past while constantly working to ensure in the future I won’t regret the past of this present. ;)
That should make it clear, Haha.

It is real and inspiring to me and I can relate that to my life ... thank you @papa-pepper and God bless

I am glad that you can relate! God bless you too!

The rich, elite planned 30 years in advance. I have hard time planning past 1 year.

How will you become rich and elite then? LOL

I guess, I do not aspire to be rich and elite....lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74