You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you believe in Heaven?

in #philosophy6 years ago

I've studied philosophy so I've done some thinking on issues like these. There are many religions out there and objectively there is little to assert that one is more correct than the other, as proof is generally lacking.

I personally hold a worldview that I like to call positive nihilism. There is no intrinsic value or morals in the world, and all is more or less meaningless (especially in the grand scheme of things). However, instead of experiencing this negatively, I experience it positively and life-affirming. If all there is, is the here and now and there is no point to it all, everything becomes rather simple: Just make the best of it, try to enjoy yourself, and be kind to others.

And when you think about it, if you just adhere to that simple thought, you'll find that you are leading pretty much the life that all major religions propagate. The rest are details. And instead of adhering to these ethics out of a selfish desire to ascend to heaven, you'll be doing it out of the morally right reasons instead.

If there is any question on whether or not a heaven exists, or a judgemental diety, I have no issues whatsoever facing it and standing for myself. I am of the belief that if an almighty and morally guided diety exists, then this diety will not look down on anyone that could be called 'good' person. In the end, if such a diety is at all to be taken seriously as a moral compass then it is to be assumed it is not a smallminded and spiteful diety.

Sort:  

Wow, you really nailed it on all this comment.. I would reply back but everything you said is so true and mostly what I believe too.. You should really write an article on this topic! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52