You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to completely transform your psyche - Part 2

in #philosophy8 years ago

I've just found your series and went through both part 1 and 2.
Great work, thank you for bringing these people and their work to my attention!

Personally, I'm having trouble trying reconcile what I can best describe as some kind of duality inside my mind.
On one hand, I've always considered myself a thinker, a philosopher if you will. I spend much of my time just thinking about life: the universe, physics, philsopy, society, consciousness, spirituality and the meaning of it all. But it's a very rational, logical process of thought and reasoning, playing out and comparing various scenarios in my head.
At the same time, I realize that it's all just a part of me - there's some deeper level of existence behind it all, my (or our?) subconscious self so to speak, which somehow feels more natural and connected to nature and the universe, that I can tap into at times whenever I manage to pause or get around this continuous rational thinking process. Sometimes this "spiritual self" surfaces naturally, but more often than not it requires conscious effort to connect with it (I've been practicing meditation lately to this end).

Based on your writings I think you will at least somewhat understand what I'm trying to describe here.

Anyway, I'm hoping some further examination of the work you're presenting in this series will help me find some harmony in this weird experience of existence.
Thanks again!

Sort:  

@orly, I kind of feel the same way. I spent a lot of time doing math and thinking about life and philosophy in the past, and I didn't understand that this was only one way of looking at reality until I started meditating, although there were some spontaneous experiences of "oneness" or ego dissolution.

Supposedly, meditation brings about an order in your mind and your life that isn't produced by logical thought and decision making alone. I like how you say "whenever I manage to pause" or "get around" thinking.

Thanks, and good luck! I'm still examining this stuff too...

Supposedly, meditation brings about an order in your mind and your life that isn't produced by logical thought and decision making alone. I like how you say "whenever I manage to pause" or "get around" thinking.

That's what I'm still confused about. Despite my best efforts, the only way I can really tap into this experience is by temporarily suppressing logical thinking. As if there's some great wall between the two, of which I can be on either one side or the other. But what I really want to do is bring down that wall, or at the very least punch some holes in it.
And indeed, Albert Hofmann's work has shown me that it is possible for these two ways of experiencing reality to function simultaneously, complementing and communicating with one another.

By the way, I can't help but notice your use of the term "supposedly". Do you have doubts about this?

Yes, it's possible to bring down the wall so that you're in the timeless and egoless state that K describes, but can also think whenever you need to, and then stop thinking. In ordinary life, thinking gets out of control.

I have doubts that the usual methods of meditation actually do this. They're healthy exercises that help you relax and clear your mind, largely because of all the deep breathing, but the premeditation and practicing shouldn't be necessary for a mystical experience.

I find that the environment surrounding you also plays an important role. When I'm close to nature, surrounded by an open, welcoming, non-judging community, where each individual feels free to express themselves without trying to conform to any expectations, I'm by default a lot closer to this desired state of mind than in my everyday city life, full of depressed, angry, rushing people trying to live up to certain customary and imaginary expectations.

In this sense, I believe our misguided society plays a large role in constantly rebuilding that wall. Otherwise, meditation might not even be needed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77