You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lucid Dreaming: Triggering Conscious Sleep

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

by this I mean I was able to half-consciously control my own actions in the dream like I would in real life, and kinda knew it was a dream, but still couldn't control everything else in it, which meant that physics was still guided by nature and not by myself)

This is something I told someone before, they always talk about flying while conscious in the dream or walking through walls but really, those are semi-conscious actions, when you are fully conscious in a lucid dream or oobe, the physics remain the same. This is the way I see it. (the more conscious you are, the more stable the physics is. It's the semi conscious ones walking through walls and such). I have often found levitating itself a trigger, it happens in the almost conscious dream and leads to a fully conscious one.

Also, someone I read once suggested that the seeming consciousness is probably a dream in itself, like you're dreaming of being conscious (that's interesting to think about).

Also I find your meditation on fictional characters interesting, there was this popular comic artist that dabbled into "magic" stuff who used to talk about "evoking" characters (fictional or real) . You can pick one, focus on them to enter the energy that makes them up. I never tried it but your report is interesting.

Sort:  

This is something I told someone before, they always talk about flying while conscious in the dream or walking through walls but really, those are semi-conscious actions, when you are fully conscious in a lucid dream or oobe, the physics remain the same. This is the way I see it. (the more conscious you are, the more stable the physics is. It's the semi conscious ones walking through walls and such). I have often found levitating itself a trigger, it happens in the almost conscious dream and leads to a fully conscious one.

I wonder if that has something to do with how our consciousness perceives its reality. We invest all our awareness in the gross physical nature of the world, so if one is fully conscious in a dream, perhaps the physics of that dream are simply being enforced by the comfort zone the consciousness naturally falls into.

Also, someone I read once suggested that the seeming consciousness is probably a dream in itself, like you're dreaming of being conscious (that's interesting to think about).

I believe that might be the notion of consciousness and 'dreaming' being relative. It's a philosophical theory that our dreams are simply our consciousness ebbing away from our existing reality into an adjacent reality, and that our "normal" reality may simply be a 'dream' state adjacent to an even more profound one. It follows that even in our everyday reality, we are still not at "full consciousness", and that this reality is simply a much longer, more drawn out "dream".

Also I find your meditation on fictional characters interesting, there was this popular comic artist that dabbled into "magic" stuff who used to talk about "evoking" characters (fictional or real) . You can pick one, focus on them to enter the energy that makes them up.

Haven't heard of this before (and frankly I wasn't sure anyone else had even bothered to try this), but I think I may have accidentally, or rather curiously wandered right into this field of exploration without knowing it. I could actually feel the energies that comprised these people, with little to no difference between them. Like the distinction between non-existent character and existent human being was itself fiction.

I never tried it but your report is interesting.

Ah, thanks :D
Planning to start now? ;)

I wonder if that has something to do with how our consciousness perceives its reality. We invest all our awareness in the gross physical nature of the world, so if one is fully conscious in a dream, perhaps the physics of that dream are simply being enforced by the comfort zone the consciousness naturally falls into.

I believe this is exactly whats happening. I think our consciousness is trained by our physical realities so the more of it you bring to a dream, the more "physical" stability you bring to the dream. You could usually be semi-conscious and experience flying, random scene changes or even people changing and other strange scenes but I think the more conscious we are, the more stable the dream is.

that our "normal" reality may simply be a 'dream' state adjacent to an even more profound one. It follows that even in our everyday reality, we are still not at "full consciousness", and that this reality is simply a much longer, more drawn out "dream".

This is possible. Maybe we will wake up someday and realize we've all been dreaming, or maybe it's just a single person dreaming about us (now that's going metaphysical).

Haven't heard of this before (and frankly I wasn't sure anyone else had even bothered to try this), but I think I may have accidentally, or rather curiously wandered right into this field of exploration without knowing it.

It's loosely related with "assuming God-forms" in western magic (these esoteric people). I believe it was Grant Morrison (comic artist) who mentioned it once. I saw a video where he talked about a few strange stuff). I believe he extended the traditional teachings to assuming the form of fictional characters like (superman

Planning to start now? ;)

Lol. my concentration and meditation skills are not really good. besides I'm up and about these days. I use to do these things back when I was in Uni (life wasnt crazy back then. lol)

the more conscious you are, the more stable the physics is.

That is very interesting. I never really thought about it like that but I see your point. I once had a very lucid dream in which I was flying. I had previously set the intention to fly into space prior to going to sleep. In my dream, when it came time to cross the threshold into space I became afraid and unable to push myself further. This was because going into space in normal reality would lead to death and because the dream felt real I was uncertain if I would die in my dream if I continued on. In regards to your theory - the fact that i could fly suggests that I wasn't fully conscious, but the fact that I was afraid may suggest that I was quite conscious. That gives me something to think about :)

I would like to see my theory as being flexible and adjustable too but just from personal experience, it seems the more conscious I am, the more I can't do anything special. When I'm semi conscious, I often get triggered into a lucid dream in the middle of flying and my thought is always streamlined, e.g im only driven by a single thing I remembered from real life, like find a special book. but when fully conscious, I have access to a few goals from real life (also limited to a few things). Since there is no science behind it, it's hard to say this opinion is the fact.

One night, not long ago, I was on a drug so I slept early, woke around 530 or so and went back to bed, I laid around trying to sleep, while there I could partially feel my body going numb, then I think I slept off only to realize I was standing in my room. Then I realized I was dreaming/oob, I went to the door and the first thing on my mind was to walk through wall or the door, I couldnt, so I just opened the door and walked out to see someone I didnt know standing at the door. The whole lucid dream thing just happen anyhow, I cant really say anything solid about it.

Sounds like a very cool experience. I don't know if I've ever had that where I thought I was awake but was actually dreaming. Though I have heard about it many times so I know its common.

Yeah, it's common. I think if you wake up before your usual time and get back to bed in lesser than 10minutes after, it usually triggers itself. It's hard to force or control.

yeah sometimes its just sporadic

Once more, I am wondering if your inability to walk through the wall stems from a conscious reinforcement of the notion that it is impossible to walk through walls because it does not work that way in our world. Perhaps in a state of semi-consciousness, this constant mind-enforced idea of physics is mitigated somewhat, since physics and its natural knowledge is subconsciously programmed to the point where it isn't a conscious thought to us, until confronted with the active prospect of just spontaneously achieving flight or walking through a solid object, at which point the normally passive subconscious rule springs into conscious thought. If our actions in lucid dreams can be controlled by us through awareness of the experience being a dream, I can't seem to shake the idea that the physics and occurrences of a lucid dream may also be shaped by us, channeled through the desires of the subconscious. Kind of a like a loop of personal control, until a breakaway is achieved.

Once more, I am wondering if your inability to walk through the wall stems from a conscious reinforcement of the notion that it is impossible to walk through walls because it does not work that way in our world. Perhaps in a state of semi-consciousness, this constant mind-enforced idea of physics is mitigated somewhat, since physics and its natural knowledge is subconsciously programmed to the point where it isn't a conscious thought to us, until confronted with the active prospect of just spontaneously achieving flight or walking through a solid object, at which point the normally passive subconscious rule springs into conscious thought.

I also think the "conscious reinforcement" is what maintains natural physics in dream state. I see the point of the "loop of personal control" but I don't know if it is that easy. although I have slight recollection of having been able to maintain flight in some cases as a teenager when dream flight triggered lucidity. but in most cases where I simply became lucid randomly, I'm usually unable to do anything beyond natural even though I'm aware it is a dream. Maybe I need to reinforce the idea that dreams have separate realities and maybe that could change how things work out.

when it came time to cross the threshold into space I became afraid and unable to push myself further.

Did this fear otherwise disturb the realism of the dream, or jar it somewhat? Like, were you in any way pulled back into waking conscious, even in the slightest because of it?

This was because going into space in normal reality would lead to death and because the dream felt real I was uncertain if I would die in my dream if I continued on.

That's interesting. Typically it is death in dreams that yanks us back into waking consciousness, so I find it intriguing that instinctual self-preservation was so immensely present in a lucid dream that you feared dying in something you knew to be a dream. Perhaps this suggests that in some ways at least, we feel at home with certain precepts of life, regardless of what state of consciousness or reality we currently inhabit.

the fact that I was afraid may suggest that I was quite conscious

Isn't fear a very subconsciously-rooted response tho? Like, wouldn't it be possible for one to experience it outside of complete consciousness whilst in in a dream-state?

In my experience and study alike, I have found fear to be a very natural, instinctual response to things we are otherwise unsure of, or just know inherently to be afraid of. I think the constant programming of what to associate fear with would easily transcend any dimensional limitations of one conscious state to another. Thoughts?

Did this fear otherwise disturb the realism of the dream, or jar it somewhat? Like, were you in any way pulled back into waking conscious, even in the slightest because of it?

I don't think so. I remained in lucid sleep for some time afterwards before actually waking up or drifting back into sleep. This happened a while ago so the exact details are a bit foggy.

Perhaps this suggests that...we feel at home with certain precepts of life, regardless of what state of consciousness or reality we currently inhabit.

Very interesting. i never thought of it that way but that makes sense. I will be thinking about that more.

Isn't fear a very subconsciously-rooted response tho? Like, wouldn't it be possible for one to experience it outside of complete consciousness whilst in in a dream-state?

Yes i agree with you that fear is a subconscious response. I think it would have made more sense if i worded my thoughts as follows: "the fact that I was afraid may suggest that I was quite lucid in my dream." I also believe that one can be fearful in a dream-state - even when lucid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09