You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lucid Dreaming: Triggering Conscious Sleep

in #philosophy6 years ago

This is something I told someone before, they always talk about flying while conscious in the dream or walking through walls but really, those are semi-conscious actions, when you are fully conscious in a lucid dream or oobe, the physics remain the same. This is the way I see it. (the more conscious you are, the more stable the physics is. It's the semi conscious ones walking through walls and such). I have often found levitating itself a trigger, it happens in the almost conscious dream and leads to a fully conscious one.

I wonder if that has something to do with how our consciousness perceives its reality. We invest all our awareness in the gross physical nature of the world, so if one is fully conscious in a dream, perhaps the physics of that dream are simply being enforced by the comfort zone the consciousness naturally falls into.

Also, someone I read once suggested that the seeming consciousness is probably a dream in itself, like you're dreaming of being conscious (that's interesting to think about).

I believe that might be the notion of consciousness and 'dreaming' being relative. It's a philosophical theory that our dreams are simply our consciousness ebbing away from our existing reality into an adjacent reality, and that our "normal" reality may simply be a 'dream' state adjacent to an even more profound one. It follows that even in our everyday reality, we are still not at "full consciousness", and that this reality is simply a much longer, more drawn out "dream".

Also I find your meditation on fictional characters interesting, there was this popular comic artist that dabbled into "magic" stuff who used to talk about "evoking" characters (fictional or real) . You can pick one, focus on them to enter the energy that makes them up.

Haven't heard of this before (and frankly I wasn't sure anyone else had even bothered to try this), but I think I may have accidentally, or rather curiously wandered right into this field of exploration without knowing it. I could actually feel the energies that comprised these people, with little to no difference between them. Like the distinction between non-existent character and existent human being was itself fiction.

I never tried it but your report is interesting.

Ah, thanks :D
Planning to start now? ;)

Sort:  

I wonder if that has something to do with how our consciousness perceives its reality. We invest all our awareness in the gross physical nature of the world, so if one is fully conscious in a dream, perhaps the physics of that dream are simply being enforced by the comfort zone the consciousness naturally falls into.

I believe this is exactly whats happening. I think our consciousness is trained by our physical realities so the more of it you bring to a dream, the more "physical" stability you bring to the dream. You could usually be semi-conscious and experience flying, random scene changes or even people changing and other strange scenes but I think the more conscious we are, the more stable the dream is.

that our "normal" reality may simply be a 'dream' state adjacent to an even more profound one. It follows that even in our everyday reality, we are still not at "full consciousness", and that this reality is simply a much longer, more drawn out "dream".

This is possible. Maybe we will wake up someday and realize we've all been dreaming, or maybe it's just a single person dreaming about us (now that's going metaphysical).

Haven't heard of this before (and frankly I wasn't sure anyone else had even bothered to try this), but I think I may have accidentally, or rather curiously wandered right into this field of exploration without knowing it.

It's loosely related with "assuming God-forms" in western magic (these esoteric people). I believe it was Grant Morrison (comic artist) who mentioned it once. I saw a video where he talked about a few strange stuff). I believe he extended the traditional teachings to assuming the form of fictional characters like (superman

Planning to start now? ;)

Lol. my concentration and meditation skills are not really good. besides I'm up and about these days. I use to do these things back when I was in Uni (life wasnt crazy back then. lol)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70