Buddhist Philosophy Topic of the Day: What is KARMA?

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

     Karma is just Cause and Effect. The difficulty with compassion in the Buddhist belief is that the teachings specify that to be fully compassionate one should not care the resulting Karma. Basically you should help others, give or be compassionate for selfless reasons and not in order to gain something in the end. This can be difficult to overcome but is very self fulfilling in nature if you can accomplish it. I see lots of example of it within the SteemIt community.

sunset-hands-love-woman.jpg

Where could I find leather enough to cover all of the earth?
With merely the leather of my shoes it is as if the entire earth were covered.
-Shantideva

     It is very easy to try to blame our suffering or unhappiness on others. We do this daily as a people. "Its his fault I did that." or "I wouldn't have done it if he hadn't done that first." This is our self-cherishing and selfishness. We also get angry at these factors that we blame. So how is this related to karma? Looking at the quote above we see that if we try to remove all our enemies (human or otherwise) we would be working on this endlessly. BUT if we work on ourselves we can accomplish this more realistically. We do this by removing our hatred. This is whats causing us to view these factors as an enemy. So by changing how we view things we can be piratical in our approach to ridding ourselves of suffering. This is just one of many aspect we need to cleanse ourselves of.

So how do we do this with practice? Start by reflecting on the shortcomings of anger. What is the result of our anger and how it ultimately only hurts us.

Disengaging from the analytical process that puts the blame for our suffering on external causes is the best way to began to detach ourselves from our mental afflictions. Yangsi Rinpoche (Practicing the Path)

hand-1549399_640.jpg
CC0 License - Pixabay.com

     Deeper in tradition karma is that the root of our happiness is the following of karma. Buddhists are taught to take refuge in the three jewels; Buddha, the Dharma (teachings) and Sangha (community), but it is said that this isnt the only thing that is required of a practitioner to end Saṃsāra (cycle of rebirths). I can talk more about that later if you wish. It is required of you to abandoning the ten non virtuous actions and also following the rules of karma is the only way.

So to break it down simply, Karma is the awareness of which thoughts and actions we should be cultivating (using). This is a very very short breakdown of the meaning, practices and related topics. I hope you enjoyed this and gained something.

Non-Virtuous actions

  1. Killing
  2. Stealing
  3. Sexual Misconduct
  4. Lying
  5. Divisive Talk
  6. Harsh Talk
  7. Idle Talk/gossip
  8. Craving/Coveting (to be attached)
  9. Harmful intent
  10. Wrong View

Saṃsāra (Sanskrit: संसार) is a term that means "wandering",[2][12] as well as "world" wherein the term connotes "cyclic change".[1] Saṃsāra is a fundamental concept in all Indian religions, is linked to the karma theory, and refers to the belief that all living beings cyclically go through births and rebirths. The term is related to phrases such as "the cycle of successive existence", "transmigration", "karmic cycle", "the wheel of life", and "cyclicality of all life, matter, existence".[2][3][13] Many scholarly texts spell Saṃsāra as Samsara.[3][14]
Source: Wikipedia

You can find a quick definition of Samsara at wikipedia. I know its the worst possible source but it translates it correctly. I can do a post on it later if needed.

Daily Buddhist Philosophy:

I am considering doing a daily post,discussion, lesson on Buddhist philosophy and teachings. I would like to it more often but shorter and on point. Does anyone like this idea?



@nicnas_allblue-Under.PNG

Sort:  

it's interesting to think how people can help others for selfish reasons

I think we end up doing everything for our own good. Even if we do something without the care for good karma, aren't we looking for a benefit somewhere. So i think when you say that you mean some people, but how many of us do it COMPLETELY self-lessly? There is at least a grain of self loathing involved. Its a good point thought because our intentions mean the world it its great to analysis it. Try to be as selfless as we can everyday.

Thank you for sharing! ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Thank you for coming and checking out my post. I appreciate that.

You're welcome.

Thank you for such a thoughtful, informative post. People throw the word "karma" around, but based on what I've read here, they're using it in the wrong context. Looking forward to hearing more!

Yes is can be used in the wrong context based on Buddhist tradition. but it still really just cause and effect. Thank you for reading. Its a great thing to realize what our intentions are and try to be fully compassionate is a hard thing to do.

Yes. I like that real karma seems to be about our actions and the spiritual reciprocity associated with them. Western society has folded "karma" into the just-world belief system that lands so many people in therapy, usually minimizing someone's loss due to another's bad behavior by cursing them with bad karma.

haha yea very true. i love that and how you hit it right on the head

I really enjoy reading your post. I need to put this into practice.

Thank you a lot, means a lot to me. I am a couple seconds away from posting a related article. Just working on the layout. I hope you have a chance to read it. I am sure you do already. Just try to be aware of it.

Hi @nicnas Just followed you. Looking forward to more posts about Buddhism thoughts and philosophy. I would try to share some too. :)

By the way, do you practice meditation?

Thanks for following, i have done the same. I look forward to sharing more on the topic as well. I hope you do share some. Yes, meditation is very key in my practice. Though mindfulness is the main aspect I attempt to grasp. I do this because it is ultimately a type of meditation you do all day long. Being aware of your thoughts and feeling and especially your actions. Thank you for taking the time to comment @ygern

Vippassana meditation and mindfulness help me so much. Being aware of my breath. Always try to remind myself to "come back to breath", and yes, I can aware of my feeling and action through my breath. It is by no means an easy thing. But I am happy to have myself practising it.

Yup. You nailed it right on. The focus is key

Okay... nice posting to remind about karma! :)

Yes we should always keep it in mind. Thank you for posting my friend @happyphoenix

Nice post!!!upvoted and followed:)

Thank you for the support. I will do the same!

Upped and followed!!

Thank you for the support. it is much appreciated. I will do the same!

Nicely written. Touche the heart. We always try to do good with other but some time our mind diverted. We need to know how to control our mind influence it to always walk on right path.

YUP YUP YUP!!!

Very informative my dear friend @nicnas.

thank you so much. I appreciate that you come and check it out. What do you think about a daily topic similar to this? maybe a little shorter?

We need to meditate daily so does the inspiration!!

YuP!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55