The Rationalist Presents: A Pondering on Christian Beliefs: Is Everything that Happens Really God's Will?

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)

The Rationalist Presents: A Pondering on Christian Beliefs: Is Everything that Happens Really God's Will?

image
Source

It's funny how Christians believe that everything that happens is the Christian god's will. This is funny because the Christian god regrets not just things that happens but things that he did with his own hands.

For example he regretted making man in Genesis 6:6 and he regretted making Saul King of Israel in 1 Samuel 15:11.

Now, I can't imagine myself throwing a stone to land into a container and when it lands into the container I regret the whole occurrence. If I regret it later, it means something has happened that I did not 'will' or want. And this means that not everything that happens are my will/desire. That's how straight forward and simple this thing is.

So when you hear Christians upholding all these things in the 'scriptures' I've mentioned above as true and saying everything that happens is God's will at the same time you should just know you're witnessing a case of contradiction of self. Them, contradicting themselves.


![image]()
Sort:  

An interesting observation. I think Atheists should look into the three arguments set out by Buddhist monk, Vasubandhu. He argues from God's unity, God's motivations for creation, which I think is quite strong, and God as one causal factor among others.

Thanks for dropping by @oryans.belt
I will look into those three arguments you've just mentioned and see what I can write about them.🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80