"There Is No Such Thing As Free Will" —My Response

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

"No Such Thing As Freewill" REALLY?

Today an article was published by @kyriacos called, "There Is No Such Thing As Free Will" and a lot of people seemed interested in the subject. I thought I might share a video I made the other month in response to this topic.

In this video I explain what Compatibilists like Matt Dillahunty(atheist) and Sye Ten Bruggencate(theist) are missing and how denying contra-causal freewill which is what most people mean by freewill, destroys the concept of rationality and responsibility and reduces everything to subjectivity and absurdity. Please have a watch and let me know what you think!

Transcript

Eric: Do you believe freewill exists?

Matt: I don't believe libertarian freewill exists. I'm a compatibilist and I think libertarian freewill doesn't exist.

Eric: And did you fully come to believe that?

Matt: Under the compatibilist version of freewell I may or may not have. It appears that I was able to assess things as a thinking agent and that's good enough I guess!

MORE

Naturalism, Calvinism, and Freewill


Don't forget to UPVOTE, COMMENT, and/or RESTEEM!

FOLLOW ME@msg768


STEEMON-.png


Sort:  

Oh my, oh my @msg768!

I'm stacked!

All I can say is:
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
-Leonardo da Vinci

I agree that there is no such thing as free will.
Everything we do, each movement is dictated by someone or society in general.

Did you come to that conclusion freely? :]

Hmmmm. I can see both sides of this. One being that there is no free will as our freedom is controlled by society in everything that we do and have to do on a daily basis. IMO we have total free will as we have the choice to do whatever we want as long as it doesn't infringe on another's life (although we could) as there are consequences for our actions whether they be in a so called religious nature or man's law. Sure free will exists in every action we do.

Nice share buddy.
A creative creation you have made to day.
Thanks for sharing.
Good luck

Thanks buddy! I appreciate it :]

This was an interesting debate. I really like the commentary. I followed you, upvoted and resteemed.

I'm glad you liked it! This is a very important topic in my opinion because it's the number one reason that many people are deceived. If we think about this topic enough, we will realize that there is only one way to get to rationality and that is by freely NOT violating the causality of our existence which means we're going to have to get down on our knees and freely submit to God or freely choose to remain blind and ignorant! :]

That's the truth.

Great video! I will resteem it now :)

Thank you! :]

There is complexity here. A fundamental question is does God know the future?
Your answer will determine your belief system. I believe God knows our future. Therefore, I can trust Him.

Foreknowledge does not conflate with freedom. Suppose I know Alex is going to shoplift with one of his friends because I hacked into his mobile phone and read his text messages. This knowledge does not in any shape or form determine whether what Alex has decided to do is a free decision or not. :]

I would put it thusly: God knows your futures, and the probabilities of each future being explored.

Such as, if you have decided to drive South and West in The US you will end up in San Diego. You will have to change your whole strategy in life if you intend to not end up in San Diego. But as long as you hold to the tenants of South and West, it is your destiny.

There are universes where free will doesn't exist.
They are similar to getting on a roller coaster.
You get on, have the experience, you get off.

Our universe is very much designed around free choice.

Think of it this way.
Whether aliens exist or not
If the planet decided to not believe in aliens we would shift to a phase where we would never interact with aliens. They could be right next to us, and cause things to happen in our environment, but we would constantly find alternative explanation for each thing that happened.

And from my experience, if God wanted everyone to believe in God, everyone would believe in God. It would be impossible to do otherwise. It would be even worse than questioning gravity.

Thanks for the comment elsewhere.

Thank You for posting this! I wanted to respond, more so than I did in the comment section of @kyriacos's post, but did not have the time.

Your welcome! As I try to demonstrate in my video, denying freewill is a self-refuting and self-undermining position to hold and/or argue from. But we live in a world where people are free to hold onto self-refuting and self-undermining beliefs soooo.... :]

Couldn't have said it better! And even if we all do turn out to be wrong about free will, we can just blame it on the bacteria. Its a win-win

You say if you turn out to be wrong, you will blame it on the bacteria as if you will have a choice! If you turn out to be wrong, you will do what you will do! This is where the concept of rationality and responsibility falls apart when you remove freewill! :]

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $25.15 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37