You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "There Is No Such Thing As Free Will" —My Response

in #philosophy7 years ago

There is complexity here. A fundamental question is does God know the future?
Your answer will determine your belief system. I believe God knows our future. Therefore, I can trust Him.

Sort:  

Foreknowledge does not conflate with freedom. Suppose I know Alex is going to shoplift with one of his friends because I hacked into his mobile phone and read his text messages. This knowledge does not in any shape or form determine whether what Alex has decided to do is a free decision or not. :]

I would put it thusly: God knows your futures, and the probabilities of each future being explored.

Such as, if you have decided to drive South and West in The US you will end up in San Diego. You will have to change your whole strategy in life if you intend to not end up in San Diego. But as long as you hold to the tenants of South and West, it is your destiny.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58027.38
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38