REINVENTION, say BYE to the COMFORT ZONE

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

We all want to change things when it not going so well. What about when we are in a period of success? Do we stay with the tried and trusted, or do we mix it up and change things?

This could relate to anything, career, personal self, music, art or movies.

lightning-2625010_1920.jpg

Be Like David Bowie But Don't Be David Bowie.

David Bowie. A leader and pioneer of music. He never followed the trend. He created it. Does that mean we follow Bowie? Yes, but in the way that you become your own leader and stay true to yourself.

One of the legacies of Bowie, was that he was always prepared to change the act. Even when he is gaining success and fans, he will keep himself fresh and interesting.

Whether you are a fan of Bowie, or not, you have to respect his creative free thinking mind.

david-bowie-1604289_1920.jpg

Where are you right now?

Are you happy? Are you comfortable? Should you be comfortable? I go to work from Sunday to Thursday and it is going well. I'm enjoying my work. So there's no need to change anything, right? Or is there? Will this last? Will the situation change?

Challenge is important. If you stay in your comfort zone, maybe the man (or woman) upstairs will change it for you. He moves in mysterious ways.

lake-2063957_1920.jpg

Let's talk about THAT movie

Star Wars. It's only the most popular film franchise ever. Disney spent money, lots of it. Not such a risk if they get bums on seats, as expected.

But Star Wars films does have a formula. Certain things are expected in each movie. However, JJ Abrams’ The Force Awakens was accused it of being too much like the original trilogy. Then Rian Johnson's The Last Jedi was accused of being too different.

What do they do. Do they need to stick to formula? Maybe, people will get bored. Perhaps this is a no win situation.

Personally, I love both the movies for different reasons.

millenium-falcon-1627322_1920.jpg

Back to the issue about work

It has all changed. Everything was comfortable in October. Then things happened. Some of it was ugly, and it has changed my perception of the role. I am going to be forced to reinvent myself. Either at my present school, or somewhere else. I'm going to have to make a big decision.

I may look back and think, actually, this is the best thing that happened. I already have one story about that.

dandelion-2817950_1920.jpg

That was the best thing that happened

Three years ago I decided to live in Germany, because my fiance was assigned there from Dubai. She had to go back to Dubai to renew her visa. When she got there, she found out that she lost her job. I'm stuck in Germany.

Quick decisions needed to be made. A few days later I got on the Emirates flight. A one way ticket. Now we are married with a lovely child. I took a leap of faith, but it all worked out nicely.

parachute-1416417_1920.jpg

The Future

Who knows? I will keep an open mind. Stay fresh and not turn to the dark side. I need a leap of faith. That is not new for me, but it still leaves me unknown about the future. Maybe that is how it should be.

imagination-1522291_1920.jpg

Leadership

I enjoyed writing this. I've just read over. In the future I would like to write more about being a leader. I know that it can be difficult and can feel lonely. But it is the leader that leaves his mark on the world. The pioneers. Just like Bowie.

princess-1661946_1920.jpg

I hope that you enjoyed this post. The main purpose was to give you something to think about. Thinking is good.

Be positive and accept the change.


All images copyright free from Pixabay. Even the Star Wars ones. No one is going to sue me today.


Sort:  

Not many good things come from the comfort zone.

But it is an adventure when you are leaving for what or who you love.

Beautiful article.

Well done.

That's a really nice compliment. Thank you so much.

Excellent post. Nothing ever happens when you play it safe. You took the metaphorical leap, and ended up with a wife and child. It's amazing how many important things in life are decided by one simple decision; you could have easily talked yourself out of doing it, and probably regretted it forever.

Of course, the opposite can be said. You could make a risky decision, have it turn out badly, and have to spend the rest of your life trying to overcome that mistake.

Too bad we can't see the future! It would help so much in life, love, and crypto.

Thank you so much. Sometimes you have nothing to lose. :-)

Years ago I too loved the comfort zone

My first time heading out and heading change was 2015. And what I gained was far more than what I have lost.

Now, as I am commenting your post, I might make another leap of faith into something that I can choose an easy way out, but I am not. It is going to be a whole new challenge in life but it is also a whole new phase of life as well.

And with the encounter of Steemit and what #teammalaysia is thriving towards together, things could be more exciting than ever.

All we need to do to make a difference, is to take that first step of faith to change.

Just like you, and what you gained, from your sharing, is definitely more than what you think you have sacrificed.

upvoted

Thank you for your reply. It's encouraging. I wanted to write a post that made people question, and it certainly has done that. So I'm happy.

nice creativity.......
looks like an orginal
thanks for sharing

Thank you, everything I do is original. I want to write more like this. Something that provokes a different way of thinking.
:-)

Awesome creative ..Thanks sharing this..Post.

your createvity is always awesome

You got a 0.39% upvote from @upme requested by: @mr-neil.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

well they say "adapt or die", don't they?
that was a big risk u took, leaving your job
i am glad it worked out well for you in the end :D

Thank you. I haven't left it yet, but I plan to :-)

oh, i thought that's what you meant, sorry.
u left Germany - u left your job

I have just begun my Steemit experience and in my introduction evoked Mr. Bowie as well, I have upvoted you here and will follow you. I hope you can surf in and read my blog, and especially the "Bowie Quote" I am getting up a "head of Steem" like you and enjoying the process of writing again after many years of quiet. Cheers!

Wow, I forgot about this post. I wrote it in January. I do like it. I'll have some more time in the coming weeks to produce something creative and original (hopefully).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42