Who am I? - By I and Myself.

in #philosophy6 years ago

Did you ever happen to say " I " and "Myself" in the same sentence? Sure you did. In England there's an old appropriate saying if something terrible could have happened, that would have been done by your hands :

"If that would have happened, I wouldn't be able to live with myself."

Other expressions that come to mind from people having troubles in their experience of life, such as,

" I hate myself"


It dosnt even have to be negative, could also be such as "I am proud of myself".

We say these things daily but rarely or if ever, do we take a moment to realize that we have just divided ourselves in-to 2 separate things.
Most of us though upon observing this when it is said, that its easy to see that yes, "I" and "Myself" seem to be different to each other. It could be possible to realize that when we say "I", its as if it comes from inside of the body or better said, inside the brain and that when we say "myself", we are imagining more of our body as a whole.

The moment you realize that we split ourselves in-to 2 every other minute of the day, then you can begin to transcend from these conditioned aspects of the mind and find much less suffering and start exploring who you could be.

Did you ever hear a young child learning to speak? I remember very clearly my younger sister saying " Hayley wants ....." whilst we were at the dinner table, and everyone laughed. Its only natural that the parent is to then correct the child to say "I want". I think I even corrected her myself even at a very young age.
From this very early stage in life, this one letter " I ", creates an unknown and unexpected journey of emotional pain for a human because now instead having a somehow 3rd person neutral view of yourself and life, everything is now personal.
If you take things personally then you have much more suffering in life than is needed.

Before the parent corrected the child, the child was a being watching the motions and hearing the sounds of "life" with no actually connection to it personally. My sister back then, had the feeling of hunger but had no way to express it.
She also had no idea who she was apart from "Hayley". When you know you are "Hayley", but then you are told you are actually "I", its just accepted and the transition takes place.
A child, (to an extent) is happy and peaceful to play on the floor with other children of all ages with one toy. If a toddler is sat playing with a ball and another child comes along and peacefully takes it from them, they usually just have a shocked expression on their face, with no eruption of tears and screams prevailing afterwards.

The child would just stay sitting when the toy was gone, look around and watch around the room.

When a child is learning to speak, and it is taught to them that the feelings inside of them isn't named what everyone else has been calling them (for example "Hayley")then it must be very confusing.
Now the child connects its self to this word " I ", and that later added with the progress in learning words, leading to the word " Me " leading to a huge misconception of who we truly are before the kid has any chance to learn otherwise.

This is where an imaginary image of yourself is created, that most people become grown into their whole entire
lives.

Since learning some word which now make everything deeply personal, the toys that you used to play with happily , are now suddenly "Mine". And because of this bonding with objects the child knows already that the toy made them happy, but unable to speak before, there was nothing to connect the emotion with the being. But now there is an "I" and a "Me", the child will definitely start crying when the toy is taken from them, because the " I " knows that the feeling of happiness will always go away with the the toy.

Sort:  

This post has received a 16.04% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Invest your Steem Power and help minnow at the same time to support our daily curation initiative. Delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one of the following links: 1000 SP, 5000 SP or more. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Hello shares!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

You got a 31.37% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @movingman!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55