You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The problem of 'We' - a reflection on the philosophy of Emmanuel Levinas

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Thank you for the explanation.
So if I'm asked a question I'm being forced in some way? Instead of forced it looks more like influenced to me. But even then I am the one allowing to be influenced. I may choose to ignore the question, respond  truthfuly  or maybe lie. The decision remains with myself. I think people are too sensitive.

That being said I do think it's important to be aware of the language I use.

On the same topic, I've also noticed that a lot of people(my self included) tend to use "you" when preaching, nagging or lecturing someone. We can start with an innocent "we" and somehow end with an  accusing  "you", almost seeing the imaginary pointed finger.


So how does this all relate to the question we started with? By talking about a 'we', you impose a specific idea of the 'other' on to someone else. The relationship of you with the other is dominated by you, by your own views. This is maybe normal, as you can only look at things the way you do. But this is also a problem, because it assumes there is a common ground, something you see in the other that you recognise in yourself. And you are not simply offering this commonality to the other, you force it on him. Precisely by saying 'we'. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43