You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dune And The Thinking Machines

in #philosophy5 years ago

I 💜 Frank Herbert. He is one of all-time favourite writers. Other than the Dune stuff, The Santaroga Barrier and The Godmakers I also highly, highly recommend.

I can’t remember whether the Mentats also depended on the Spice, or was it just the Bene Gesserit and Guild? There was something that Mentats took regularly, it stained their lips.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I honestly read only Dune by Frank Herbert, but after this I think I might have to read the ones you suggested too. ;-)

Yeah... that Mentat stuff... what was that again, it was some kind of juice... Sapho juice!!

I went to look it up after reading your post and realised my copy Dune has disappeared. Maybe I lent it to someone... I don’t know.

I think I might like to go back and read God Emperor of Dune again. I think there’s quite a bit of really good stuff in that book.

It felt like the ‘2nd trilogy’ (God Emperor, Heretics, and Chapter House) was taking a very critical mirror to Imperial Christianity in a way, and comparing it to Pharaonic Egypt. That could also just be my own filters though 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43