The trophy you won't getsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy6 years ago

No matter how much we grow, how much we evolve as a species and as a society, conflict will forever be present. Of course, there are positive aspects to conflict, good reasons to fight for something, for someone, for a cause, but how we tackle the conflict matters just as much as the outcome we desire.



img src

Who is right?


Where do we deposit the energy, the focal point of the problem, and what is the driving force behind our actions, behind our words and communicational attempts to solve it, say a lot about the validity of the conflict.

In other words, if the main reason why I've decided to fight is because I need to walk away with the knowledge that I'm in the right, then maybe, just maybe, I've fallen victim to my own ego and enslaved myself to the false notion of it's importance.

Of course this is anecdotal and as such does not hold macro validity, but I'm yet to find someone who stands in righteousness who is truly happy. This is not to say I wont, because of course as far as I know, there are still many moons I must witness, but up until now when I've found someone gripping with white knuckles to righteous positions, I've found someone who struggles a lot emotionally and even struggles with depression.

It comes down to expectations, to the idea that if do the right thing then by some sort of universal balance, good things should happen to us, but everything about that analysis is flawed, starting from the fact that good in itself is subjective. Who knows if it's good or bad?

It's about the principle


Yes, when I've been on a coaching position, whether being a role model to a child or a boss to an employee, I've used this argument to outline a set of expectations and a behavioral north so to speak.

Doing the right thing should be about the first action, the reconcilement with one's conscience and not about the reaction to the action. If one does something only for the result, for the reward, for the recognition, then more often times that not, we are setting ourselves up for bitter disappointment.

The trophy is not coming


No matter how hard you try to protect your ego, your sense of self, the notion that you are right while everyone else is ignorant of the truth. Nobody will show up at the end of your lifetime to give you a trophy.

"Good job, you were right most of the time, and you really showed people a thing or two about respecting you"

That's the bubble we need to burst, the idea that there is a pot of gold at the end of the emotional rainbow of drama and chaos. This is not to say I don't understand the primal need to react, to defend, to protect one's idea of self worth, but it's important to ask ourselves why we are doing so and possibly more important for who.

If I know what I'm worth, if I work on me, elevate my self image possibly physically, but definitely mentally and emotionally. How would anyone wield enough power to crumble it down to nothing? And if someone does, who gave that person that much power to begin with?

In all honesty I'm not claiming to dominate these notions, to be able to separate myself from the thinned skinned ego that bruises when a friendship is revealed not to be one, when trust is broken, and when ideals are attacked, of course not. All I'm saying is that I make a conscious attempt to be aware and not react flabbergasted when life starts to paint my days with strokes of gray.

Because I know that no matter how much energy I dedicate to this futile quest, the trophy will never come.

Sort:  

There was this guy 30 years ago that had the first mobile phone in town. He pranced that damned thing around town and he was cool. He tried to get a few girls numbers, but unfortunately he was the only one with a mobile phone in town..
Anyways...
One day the war started and no one gave a damn about his phone. After some time even he didnt give a damn.
30 years passed and now he has a samsung XGER 25 or whatever is hip nowadays..
My point was... What happens today, matters today. Tomorrow, most of the crap that happened doesnt matter. If youre sane.
If youre an insane person, youll still dwell on some shit that happened yesterday...
One of the reasons i laugh at the stupid whale feuds.

This is really a great write up from you. Thumb up on this

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

My view of things is more surrounding the who’s opinions matter to me like my family. Will they be proud of my action or not? That is what matters for me now and always. I do not need the approval of others in order to achieve that although it may not be the most efficient way to get where I need to be in the long term.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47