You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A weird question I have after a debate with a Flat Earther.

in #philosophy7 years ago

This might be the case @apolymask but the reason for it in my opinion has nothing to do with some conspiracy to keep us in the dark, it makes a little more sense to me that it would not be attempted for other reasons... I can think of two and of course I'm not a scientist, weather can be pretty unpredictable at the poles and to my understanding there is still much debate as to what country owns what parts of the artic with pending claims, which would make the airspace legally questionable (airplane routes have to approved). In my opinion the flat earth argument does not hold any water, if there was some round earth money to be made then exactly who would be paying it? and two, what would be the motivation in the 6th century to claim the earth to round. In any case, sorry for my rant... but until this day nothing I've read or heard flat earthers say has made me doubt...

Sort:  

The weather reason isn't really good enough for me, especially with the type of military planes we have now. They should be able to fly WAY up over all that stuff.

Your airspace point might be true. Though there was ONE expedition by the government before, so I assume they could do another one if people really wanted to make it happen.
Sorta like going back to the moon.. Why'd we never go back? I really doubt it is the reason they gave us. I'll just leave it at that.

In my opinion the flat earth argument does not hold any water, if there was some round earth money to be made then exactly who would be paying it? and two, what would be the motivation in the 6th century to claim the earth to round. In any case, sorry for my rant... but until this day nothing I've read or heard flat earthers say has made me doubt...

I don't think the earth is flat either, but as I said I do think they may not be giving us the whole truth, there's a lot of weird geography going on with our maps, they portray certain contintents as way smaller, Antarctica for example is suppose to bigger than the US I believe, perhaps as much as 3 times as big I seem to remember reading? Yet it's portrayed as a small lil island way smaller than the US on the maps, Africa is also not represented properly.. So.. Something is weird.

In regards to the reasons that they might wanna conceal the shape of the planet..
Could be quite a few actually. Though most flat eathers just say becaue they want us confused about everything and not knowing what is true. Not even the most basic things like where we live.

My personal theories are, could have to do with keeping land hidden. Mayb they want us thinking everything has been explored and there's nothing left to explore while they build up their massive break away society and exploit it.

Or could have something to do with God even.. To me, in order for a flat earth to exist it would pretty much imply a God, cause nature doesn't form like that based on my understanding.. And I've seen others say that flat earth made them believe in God, so.. If it was truly flat, maybe they don't want people to believe in God.. I dunno. Could be other stuff as well, hope that helps with your understanding in regards to the possibilities. And no need to apologize! Thanks for your thoughts!

Wait are you saying the globe maps are incorrect, or the flat maps? Because the flat maps need to be distorted to fit onto a flat plane and so aren't accurate representations of the real size. The globe ones should be correct.

Check this out my friend, I did a quick search on the wiki https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polar_route . Btw I'm not dismissing your points, I of course don't pretend to hold all the answers, but then again I'm skeptic to all claims even the ones I sometimes defend. Cheers mate

I'm a skeptic as well! I understand and appreciate that. Will check out the link when I get time. Thanks.

Maybe they have made the flight but haven't made it public, you never know, they probably file some of this stuff and seal it so nobody gets to know.

That's a good point. I would assume that to be true regardless of the shape of the earth. But there's only one vertical circumnavigation I can find, I do see some claims of others, though.. They aren't on any official lists that I can see.. And I'd have to dig deeper than I have the time for which is one reason I created this thread. Maybe someone else knows..

Maps look weird simply because they are globe projection maps. If you look at a globe, all of the continents look completely normal. There is no way to 'project' a globe onto a map without distorting something. There are tons of tutorials on this online, and there is even a 'projection map maker' where you can make a globe projection map with the center of the map anyplace you like on earth.

That the flat earth community cannot come up with a map that is not distorted, when it should be easy to map a flat plane onto a flat surface without distortion, is a big piece of evidence that the earth is not flat.

http://www.businessinsider.com/the-mercator-projection-distorts-countries-2017-6

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44