In search for truth

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)
A man was sitting in front of his teacher attempting to meditate, to close his eyes and invite reflection. Distractions are never too far from the picture and remaining calm presented a big challenge for him. Just a few minutes later in full knowledge that it was not the time or the place to do so, the man of this little story opens his mouth.

"Teacher.... I think I'm ready" - The teacher's silence is broken suddenly "ready for what?" - the student's face began to show signs of frustration, patience could no longer be simulated, not anymore.

"I've been here for months now, we barely talk, you barely say anything practical to me... to be honest, sitting around doing nothing drives me crazy, I feel like I'm wasting my time..."

The teacher got up, looked at his student and said with a somber tone "Yes, it seems you have done just that...."

None one has your answer


And that truth is something none of us like to hear, but its without a doubt blatantly accurate. I'm always intrigued by the almost romantic idea that a book will have some sort of revelation designed for me, written for the exact moment I would find it, the moment where I was not only ready to receive the message, but I was also at the right place, at the right time.

To me, the idea of believing that a master plan has been put forth for me to follow is both consoling and scary. On the one hand we would all like to believe that we are masters of our own destiny, that a choice that we make is our own and ours alone. On the other hand we all find solace and comfort in the idea that even the most painful situations have a higher purpose that excuses and justifies their occurrence.

This is exactly where most of us get a little lost, attempting to find the balance between what we want, what we know and what we ignore. I for one have stopped believing in intelectual and spiritual destinations, meaning that I don't currently think that there will be a time where everything will become crystal clear. From where I stand today it seems to me that life is just a complicated search for truth and in between all the confusion, all the pain and all the joy, we get to find only tiny pieces of a puzzle we are not equipped to fully understand.

I guess it does sound quite grim, but I find it also quite liberating. Understanding that no one holds the ultimate truth allows me to embark on the search of my own. I get to question everything I believe without feeling any guilt, without attempting to justify to some sort of intellectual authority the reasoning behind my skepticism.


img src

This does require active practice, meaning that we must resist the desire to ask for someone else's truth to replace our own. The idea that we can find a wise teacher and he can give us the magic words, the broken down plan to follow, the step by step guide into a better you, is the reason why religions control masses, its why politicians wield their power and its also why nothing sells as well as those silly self help books.

I'm of the idea that its wise to step back, to not take one step or two in the opposite direction but thousands of them and deconstruct the origins of most of these so called "truths". We may be adapting to our own core, to our own "self" alien elements that erode our happiness and because we don't take the time to explore internally, we are completely unaware of the self inflicted spiritual and emotional wounds.


(signature by @bembelmaniac )

Other posts of mine

● Salt can be merciless
● Open Mic Week 82 - Meno - Top 5 Picks and Honorable Mentions
● Maybe Asimov was right
● Knock, Knock...
Sort:  

I love this; As I always say you are the master of your fate, the captain of your fate and the boss of your dreams. We must learn to follow our instincts, we must learn to listen from the deepest part of our heart. It can never go wrong and even when it seems like it went wrong and failed there’s always a very important lesson to learn and grow from! And that’s the essence of life; to keep growing and never stop growing

I was thinking this two days ago, politics wise, this is the best message we can give in this day and age, find the strenght within you and don't chase some illusory leaders

Brilliantly said Fratello!

Me to my dad: "What is the meaning of life?"
Dad to me: "Love and passionate curiosity, my dear."

Un consejo muy sabio sin duda alguna....

...we get to find only tiny pieces of a puzzle we are not equipped to fully understand...

That's truth, right there :-)

I think the human mind is simply not equipped to be able to understand the larger truths in this plane of existence. I don't think that most humans ever develop the intellectual capacity to understand anything outside of themself, and they don't realize that most of the truths they seek actually lie within themself. The problem with all of the truths that lie within one's self is that they come with baggage, all of the uncomfortable things about one's self that few people want to explore. To explore the baggage of one's inner self is often painful, so we live in a constant state of denial of self, and look for our answers elsewhere.
Of course, that is where organized religion get's it's foot in the door. They have answers, the only true answers, according to them. And so, we wander, confused about who, and what we really are.

It's exactly that Amber, it's like an exploit of a software, as if hackers found the weakness in the code long ago.

Nice comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46