You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Prince, Chapter II

in #philosophy7 years ago

I haven't! I should really read that book, it sounds interesting.
Should we have a publicly owned government or a private one? I haven't thought about that. Im not sure.
What do you think?
My main goal is a very small government, instituted by their citizens for the simple sake of protecting the rights of their citizens. The governmental form I would most prefer is a republic, which differs from a democracy in certain ways.

Sort:  

Personally, I am an market anarchist, but I see eye to eye with classical liberals because I used to be one. Where I differ with Locke is his support of social contract theory. The problem with government is that it naturally grows. Tackling that problem is what led me to Murray Rothbard.

The problem with government is that it naturally grows.

Very true, and thats why Im a classical liberal. We have to be vigilant, and always monitor its growth. At a certain point, the consequences of government outweigh the benefits.

Tackling that problem is what led me to Murray Rothbard.

Huh - I've never heard of him. I'll check him out, I'd be interested in what he had to say.

Just a warning! You might like it! I'd start with "For a New Liberty" you can get it for free from the mises institute:
https://mises.org/library/new-liberty-libertarian-manifesto

Thanks - I'll check it out tomorrow morning. Its getting late and I have to get up early, so Ill talk tomorrow.
:D Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35