You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Mental Illness": How and what to learn from your mind breaking

in #philosophy8 years ago

You're a really skilled writer, @churdtzu. And I think your angle on this subject is really good. You brought up a few things I had never considered, as I contemplate the struggles of a good friend of mine.

If I were to compare her to who she was ten years ago, BEFORE the psychotic episodes, I would pick her as a friend TODAY over TEN YEARS AGO. Any day.

She's way more interesting, more open, more honest, more creative, more compassionate, more understanding, more intellectual, more loving, and more fun to talk to. When she has her episodes, it's scary, and I worry, and the accompanying depression that comes with it is miserable for her.

But she's altogether a fabulous individual, and partly BECAUSE of her illness.

Sort:  

Thanks very much. I thought it was important to talk about this, because, it's not an easy thing to talk about, and so many people remain in the dark about it. It's a part of English-speaking culture that we try to sweep these things under the carpet.

I was talking about it with @andrarchy the other day, and I said it's like you're going through puberty except nobody has told you what puberty is, and nobody around you even knows what puberty is. His analogy was, it's like being gay and thinking there's nobody out there like you, which is a good analogy too. Thank God for the Internet, so we can finally get the word out and start supporting and guiding people to a better life, and make the most of these experiences.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68643.84
ETH 3277.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67