You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fixing our broken system - where to even begin? Part 2: The political system

in #philosophy7 years ago

What I do not understand in today's government is the (at least here in Australia) belief that the equivalent of corporate wages be paid to those representing us (I know some would argue they are a corporation, but bear with me).

There is no excuse for members to be paid more than the median wage for their portfolio i.e. minister for pensions living on a pension etc. Up to the prime minister earning a median wage. After all, how are they to understand how to live on these wages and bring in changes when they themselves cannot empathise with the plight of the average taxpayer they claim to represent? Hopefully this would weed out the current sociopaths and those that care only for back-handers and a lifelong wage after leaving.

Don't tell me no-one would take on the job without a 6 figure salary, there are plenty that would.
Of course, the fallacy that 'anyone' can become prime minister or president is in itself laughable and should be a red flag to those that suspect something is rotten, to start thinking for themselves.
Good article!

Sort:  

My point above was that you need well qualified and highly responsible people. I know that a lot of people believe that this job should be an almost volunteer role in regards to the pay. I understand your point, but I respectfully disagree. I think you should pay extremely well for great people. However, I correspondingly expect that if they do anything even remotely corrupt in that role, they are charged with treason and go to jail without question for the rest of their lives. You get what you incentivize.. period.

Hmm, I guess we would agree to disagree, but thats all good.
My take would be there are many in the community that are responsible, on a basic wage, and well qualified would just encourage a kind of incestuous CEO hopping across business and government or letting those already in a possibly corrupt system be 'properly qualified'. Having a position in Government does not mean they are alone, you can still have advisers.
I do not think looking at any in the job currently would encourage someone to think they were well qualified (which is probably your point in the second half of your answer). They are more qualified for oversized boots and a red nose in my opinion.

I think we can both agree on the treason and corruption part of your answer, too many have a 'get out of jail free' card by just resigning when caught with their hand in the cookie jar it seems.

I guess having read some posts now on your good work, I definitely agree more with the @dharmapee model I think.

Anyway, love your work and being able to have a reasoned debate about one of the traditional no-nos of conversation, politics. :-)

Thanks a lot and thanks for participating in the discussion. These are topics that we as a society need to really think about, discuss, and makes serious changes on if we want to have any hope of preserving out freedoms. Unfortunately, the masses have been lulled to sleep with bread and games and in the meantime the foxes are in the henhouse. My hope is to make sure we easily understand what needs to be changed, so as to preserve as well as to improve our tremendously important inheritance that the majority pretty much take for granted today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64