You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I try not to be a one trick pony...

in #philosophy7 years ago

I consider myself an-cap as well, founded a voluntarist organization in my country and all but stopped recently labeling myself due to the fact that people make wrong conclusions about you based on past experience. For example when I realized that many people associate an-cap and libertarianism with TDV, I backed off completely. I am nothing alike with that guy but a mere title makes all the difference. Same applies about atheism. I have nothing to do with the neo-atheist movement although I understand how people will make wrong associations once you call your self a non-believer.

I rarely try to mention the words "anarchy" or "atheism" because people have a natural shield against these concepts. I rather try to explain myself through examples that make these ideas self evident.

Excellent post. Keep up the good work man.

Sort:  

I agree on the words. Right up there with Conspiracy Theorist...

Most of the time I just try to talk about the ideas of anarcho capitalism without mentioning it as well. I actually believe this is why a lot of people started referring to themselves as voluntaryists.

I guess this is good step forward. Words can have an unfathomed amount of baggage.

Until the world starts using critical thinking and stops letting words that have meaning so casually be hijacked an repurposed it is all we can do I think. Adapt, regroup, and try another approach.

The word "anarchist" is too misunderstood. I prefer voluntarist as well. Wikipedia uses the term voluntaryist, but that doesn't roll off my tongue as well. If you say you are an anarchist, people will tell you to move to another country. People tend to think anarchists are all about smashing windows and throwing Molotov cocktails.

Personally, I've never done any of those things. Actually, I'm totally against that crap.

yeap...the equivocate anarchists with communist anarchists and cultural marxists.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43