You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you believe in Heaven?

in #philosophy6 years ago

This is very much a similar way of my thinking.

I believe religion was created in the first place to try to explain that something a lot of us feel and know that must exist somewhere. They called that being God and everyone had their own interpretation for that. The writing of the Bible was nothing but a natural way of expressing someone's beliefs. And the same happens with most religions.

They are mostly based upon "good" morals and also ancient traditions that might not seem relevant nowadays. However, back in the day, religion played an amazing role in controlling masses so society had a path to follow.

It's for that reason that I am not like most of atheists who hate religion. It did what it had to do, but now it's probably a little unecessary with all the knowledge there is.

Great post!

Sort:  

I don't hate religion either, I think some people really need it in their lives so I'm glad they have it. I just don't like how everyone is constantly trying to push their religion on me. I never ask people to change what they believe, but when I tell them I'm not religious they feel the need to "save me"? Other than that, I have no issues with religion.
Glad you liked the post ;)

I have learned trying not to care much when I am pushed over it. They find themselves in a Paradox. They believe salvation is obtained when convincing others to join them. If they don't, they would go to hell too for not trying.

But it is true they should respect our decisions and not get too annoying along the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39