You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where attention GOES, energy FLOWS

in #philosophy6 years ago

I love the messages in this post. People really do need to take charge of their own attitudes. Parenthetical note: I don't quite agree that if you want to be happy you will be, and that it is as simple as that. A lot of people have some serious sh*t go down in their lives and feel helpless, or suffer from chronic depression which cannot be fixed with a simple attitude adjustment. So I'm always sensitive to that.

That said, I see people go through life not hearing the negativity they spew out, and I just try to skirt around them and take a different path. I think we all should take responsibility for helping to make the world a better place, through actions and behavior.

It's easy to read the news and see what's going on in the world and think everything sucks. But to take charge of your attitude and spread sunshine instead is so powerful and contagious, and worth all the head-rearranging effort.

Sort:  

Sometimes negativity just becomes part of the subconcious mind and becomes the default behavior which requires effort to be mindful of and to alter....

Thank you for your lovely comment.

I don't quite agree that if you want to be happy you will be, and that it is as simple as that

I need to make myself clear on this. I agree that you can not be happy immediately if you are depressed, that is too big of an emotional jump. It is simply IMPOSSIBLE. I know this because I was diagnosed with a severe depression, panic disorder and agoraphobia a couple of years back.Took some serious medication and daily self-work to pull myself out. The thing that I mean is if you want to be happy, you will be. Maybe not this second, but it is up to you to get there. It is not easy but it is doable, and if I managed to do it then anyone can. You can read all about my journey in these posts:

Personal journey to a land of mental disorders and back
Panic attacks - a heart-attack monsters

The most important thing that I have learned is that we are all beautiful and strong beings who have the ability to help ourselves be better. It is our responsibility. The moment we decide that we will be better and we will be happy is the moment everything starts to change. That is the moment we take control of our lives. To all the people that you know are suffering from depression, I wish all the love and strength in the world 💚💚💚 They are strong enough and they have all that it takes. Remind them of that. 💚💚💚

Thank you for that thoughtful addition to your post! I had a journey somewhat similar to yours, which is why I had a slight reservation to that one statement. I agree wholeheartedly that one must make the decision, start the journey, and take the steps, and the road can be long and hard but well worth it.

I think one of the most debilitating aspects of depression is that you feel alone. It's wonderful that you are a success story, and that you are out sharing what you went through to get back to mental health. Kudos! Hopefully your work can help more people feel less alone in their suffering, and more hopeful that change is possible.

Yeah, that feeling of being all alone in the world is scary familiar. You are surrounded by people, people who love you and want to take care of you and still you feel like you are alone and nobody knows what you are going through. I am so happy that feeling is gone! :) And I am happy that you are on the good side of the street after your journey 💚💚💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61485.38
ETH 3443.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52