Sort:  

Thanks for joining us!

Really enjoyed the show, covered a good range of things, I'd be down to be a guest sometime, but I usually work 8-5 so only have a one hour break from 12-1MST so maybe I'll just participate in chat until I have a friday off or you guys do one on the weekend.

One topic I'd like to see is how you think we should go about promoting spirituality, or if we even should. Ever since I got into spirituality I've found it to be the most rewarding and interesting topic to learn about and want to share that, but many people hold spirituality as a personal thing and often equate religion to spirituality which really deters me from talking about it. That, plus it's hard to put into words.

I still feel like we should spread the importance of spiritual practice on a personal and world wide level

I would much rather see spirituality promoted than religion personally, but I think spirituality is non-competitive in nature so it's something that doesn't really lend itself toward being pushed on others. I think spirituality is something we have to explore and know for ourselves and religion is many people's gateway to spirituality. I happen to think that gateway only lets so much through though.

I wouldn't want to push it on people, just give them a better idea of what it is or means, I had no idea before my first experience, I was basically atheist... Maybe people need to have that kind of experience, I just wonder if there is any nudging that can be done or if allowing it to happen organically is enough

I think some of us just enjoy discussing and speaking about these ideas and abstract concepts and if someone stumbles upon them and something clicks then it's all working as intended. We could totally spend a couple hours discussing religion versus spirituality though. :)

I'd be down for that, do it up. I was raised Catholic and have an interest in most religions because I believe there is some truth in all of them. I bet the interest would be there and you could get a lot of interaction on that topic

That's interesting, I was raised Catholic and started studying other religions when they were teaching us apologetics. I came to a similar conclusion, I find there is wisdom to be found in all of them and they are all susceptible to human manipulation. One of my favorite aspects of Buddhism is how they destroy their own scrolls and literature and don't put much faith in the written word. :)

I don't like organized religion at all. It was intended to be a political tool to divide and conquer people from day one. The teachings they stole to make all of them up may have some merit but are out of context, cherry picked, and manipulated. Religions conquered mamy a spiritual culture if not through forced conversion, they just slaughtered them. The average church goer may not really think much about it, but then that's the purpose of telling people what to believe. Spirituality is internal, religion is external. I'm just sharing my two cents on the subject. If it were not for religion the world would be an entirely different place and people would still know their connection to the natural world is sacred. Instead people are told it's ok to destroy and dominate it. Maybe for some it can be a gateway, but I'd have to look at the facts and ask to what that gateway really leads... Not trying to offend anyone who believe differently, just sharing my perspective. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61098.42
ETH 2470.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64