You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Love? ... Love of Difference ... Dimensions of Love #3

in #philosophy7 years ago

Acknowledged sir. No doubt it is such an informative and worth reading write up. The topic " Love of difference sounds interesting but new to me. I never had any gaze over this before. Love of difference is something which help us to pave our own path to the righteous place. To become a sublime character to the life, one will have to apply the formula of love of differences rather what people do sententiously. I want to know little more about the love of difference. Can you post here any relevant experience of your life concerning "love of differences"

Sort:  

Thanks for asking. I am having a hard time coming up with a single defining experience of "love of difference," but I have come to notice in my life that sometimes I will listen to somebody else and think, "I never thought of that," or, "you have a completely different life experience than me." Sometimes, when this happens, I just try to notice and appreciate the differences. A younger me might have tried harder to focus on the shared elements of the story, but now I really appreciate just letting the differences be differences. Does that make sense?

Another example, I am a white man from the USA, I grew up in a certain community, and I get treated in a certain way in my country... if I read something written by a black woman (Toni Morrison, June Jordan, Octavia Butler, NK Jemisin are great!), who had a totally different upbringing, and gets treated very differently in the same culture, I can appreciate that her perspective is grounded in an experience that I have not had, that she knows things I do not. Of course we will have similarities, too, but appreciating that she has a wisdom based in parts of her life that are different from mine is the foundation of a respect and love for who-she-is, not how-she relates-to-me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65045.20
ETH 3523.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37