You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beauty in the Breakdown

in #philosophy7 years ago

Loved reading about your experience... how many times have we gone that extra mile, a little bit over that tipping point beyond our comfort zone, to find an unexpected and surprising reward? I can think of a lot of occasions where I thought "Wow, and to think I wasn't going to do it in the first place!". And still out brains seem to cling into the negative and try to hold us back from some imaginary danger - a negative carryout of natural selection?

That Frou Frou song is fantastic, and I had not listened to it in years! Playing it right now :)

Sort:  

Yes - "our brains seem to cling to the negative and try to hold us back..." I think that just like any discipline the more we exercise our will to choose hard, uncomfortable, and awkward things, the easier it will get to press through that invisible barrier of fear. I'm still in training here myself, so it helps to speak of these small victories.

I'm glad you like the song! I've had several commutes to work over the years where it plays on repeat. It has become a kind of prayer for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54