You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life and Death

in #philosophy5 years ago

Imagine you were born on a lonely island. Your only goal would be to survive. Wouldn't you be much more curious about everything?

It's very true! Sam Harris talks about this in one of the lessons from his "Waking Up" app, I think it is called "The Problem of Boredom" or something. He suggests that boredom is essentially impossible if you remain mindful, because even watching one's internal emotions can be amazingly interesting.

I agree although it's easy to forget... and stare into instagram for hours...

that's why I try to make art on my phone using a pixel art app, rather than opening up a social media app, when I get the antsy feeling.

Sort:  

we humans do many things unconsciously out of routine or habit.
very nice, that you become aware of your boredom and try to get out of the routine! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60