You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A weird question I have after a debate with a Flat Earther.

in #philosophy7 years ago

This intrigues me. I never knew we haven't gone from one pole to the other in a vertical fashion. You would think with the technology we have now, someone would have taken the ride by now. I too don't buy the flat earth theory, I just don't see why earth would be flat when everything else in space is a round ball. When water falls it forms ball like droplets, not flat disks. The laws of nature just don't support it. And the whole God made it flat doesn't work for me either, I think God actually fits in and made everything using the laws of nature. So even if the poles screwed up the GPS and compass couldn't the trip still be made using things like the position of the sun and using the stars as alignment?

Sort:  

Well there was one expedition called the Transglobe expedition, but the flat earths have issues with it and claim shenanigans. I am surprised it hasn't been attempted more than once.. People love doing crazy stuff like climbing Everest.

I would agree with you in regards to everything else you said, if there is a God it used the laws of nature. To me.. God kind of is the laws of nature and nature itself not an actual separate being, so.. I'm sorta with you there and in regards to the other stuff you said.

But umm.. Flat Earthers generally don't believe in GPS and satellites, and I'm not sure how they would respond to the rest of your argument. in regards to the trip being made with position of the sun and stars and such. I think they believe the earth is stationary so all the other stuff moves and we don't, theoretically you should still be able to find your way based on the stars to some extent though in a flat earth model. Not totally sure how it works though..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61224.26
ETH 2383.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55