You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A weird question I have after a debate with a Flat Earther.

in #philosophy7 years ago

Why would someone try that? Only reason would be just for doing it cause economically or for that matter for any other reason it doesn't make sense.

Sort:  

Why do they hike Everest or swim around the world chained to a log? Cause they wanna be the first to do something really difficult and physically demanding I guess? I can't say for sure, but.. People tend to like to be the first to do something difficult and hard so they can boost their ego and make other people respect or like them more.

Yes, but logically it would only be a certain kind of person who would do that it would have no significance other than to that person's ego.

Then why did the government do the only expedition on record vertically?
There must have been some other benefit besides just ego?

Well I would have to look into that, see if there was an ulterior motive, I had never really heard about that expedition.

Just wanted to mention that I dug a lil deeper and I'm having trouble finding if it's a government sponsored expedition or not.. It may not have been. I'm not sure why I was under that impression since I can't find it now. But.. I guess it's possible it might have just been a regular expedition and not sponsored by the government.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61436.18
ETH 2381.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55