You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quick quote from someone here on steemit I agreed a lot with.

in #philosophy7 years ago

Who, if I may ask is the "genocidal" addressing to?

And if there is a perpetrator, who is the victim of this so-called genocide in America?

If there is no actual genocide going on, I will conclude this is a racist, or at least a borderline racist remark. It could be considered hate-speech toward any specific group of people.

Just sayin'.

Sort:  

The quote is about the colonization of the US. I think it's pretty self explanatory. It has nothing to do with race or racism, why would you think that? Please explain yourself.

Exactly because the colonialist history of the US is in the past.

How would you go on addressing this history of yours now?

It is in the past, but that doesn't mean we shouldn't acknowledge what happened or talk about it. And.. Also I'm not sure I understand your question? Could you reword that?

My personal history, or the US history? Or the world history?
And by address it what do you mean?
Like.. What would my solution be? Is that what you're asking?

Acknowledge yes, but the quote you used and agreed with says "address". It is also implying people are "guilty" for benefiting from something that happened in the past. You do realize that if you use that kind of rhetoric, there's no ending to the things we are guilty for. That's how guilt by association basically works.

"You're guilty for something you did not do." How would that work out for you?

You are right, I was asking for your solution.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67050.87
ETH 3252.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64