You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Our Wasteful Lifestyle Just a Repeating, Instinctual Pattern?

in #philosophy6 years ago

Human's are a plague on this world. Our greed is insatiable.

Now that's off my chest...Good post @minismallholding. I'm afraid I am one of those who don't hold much hope that things will change. They have been talking about global warming, pollution in the oceans, cutting down rain forests and the like since I can remember, 40 years and more and yet here we are, same issues, only worse. A whole generation has grown up and we have just made it that much worse; Brought us that little bit closer to the brink. Still throwing cigarette butts on the ground, buying endless plastic bottles of water, consuming more fossil fuels and generally being assholes. Bring on extinction.

Sort:  

One side of me is in total agreement with you, but the other side says we're not all destructive and we're a part of the eco system. Often it's those who realise the ecosystem would be better off without us that are the ones we could do with keeping around.

Yes, I get it...I just see excess everywhere I turn and just don't see anyone letting up...Its just more, more, more...I hope things change. My wife and I put some effort into consuming less where we can, having a lighter footprint on the planet but I can't shake the feeling it's too little too late.

I can't shake the feeling it's too little too late.

Ditto. Hopefully we're just being pessimists.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99