You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Death and Mushrooms: analyzing the psychology of a magic mushroom experience

in #philosophy6 years ago

This is interesting to me on a couple of levels. I do not have a fear of death and lost it long ago. I have had many close calls for health emergencies, surgeries, and accidents. I have woken up many times to people yelling at me that I almost died, or they thought I was dead, or that I should be dead.

After many years of this - I gave up ever worrying about death. When it comes, it comes. I was supposed to be dead before 21 with one of my health conditions and I am 59 now, so thank God I did not worry about it all this time.

I have also taken the left brain vs right brain tests on several occasions when I saw them online. I always chart at 90% right brain and sometimes 100%. I always thought that was odd since I am an accountant, but it never fails. Apparently I have no left brain.

And finally, I am a mom, and when my son and his friends were in their late teens early 20's "shrooms" were a thing they did fairly often. They would hang out at my house for this sometimes since I was the "cool mom."

10 boys with big grins on their faces talking a mile a minute about the meaning of life is what I remember of that.

Sort:  

Wow. It sounds like you have had some pretty intense and significant brushes with death. It makes sense that you have relinquished all fear of death. Sounds like you are a survivor and very resilient :)
I'm not familiar with the tests that you are referring to so I cant really comment on how accurate they are but that is interesting that you score so high on the right brain. Seems almost contradictory to you being an accountant, as you suggested. But then again the brain is a very complex organ that's not fully understood at this point in time. So who knows

Posted using Partiko Android

You can find them online. "Are you a right brain or left brain thinker?" It's normally 10- 50 questions and then the answer pops up. I thought for sure I would be left brain all the way. I'm left handed and my right hand is almost useless for most tasks lol.

I keep going no matter what, that's for sure. If I gave up every time people told me to, I would be nowhere. I have had a lot of trauma, and at some point I noticed people want to yell at you when you "almost died" like its your fault.

Note - I have never seen one thing in any of these experiences - no tunnels, no light, no floating out of my body - nothing. Does that mean I have actually never been close to death?

I'm very glad I saw your post - It's got me thinking :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57