More logic: Indeterminate probability and the conjunction paradox

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Phew... pretty complicated for sure and I don't know if I got all of it. At least, I know now why I became a painter...

I like the way this post introduces the conjunction fallacy and probabilities. As you know well the choice to believe God or believe no God is not based on probability of existence of God but faith. So all robots will be free to claim themselves to be agnostic unless more evidence is given. Human beings on the other hand have a much more complicated algorithm. They question does God exist is one thing but, "Do you exist?" "Do you exist in eternity?" "If not then is the a beginning and an end?" "Is there a soul?" CS Lewis talks about these questions using logic in his radio series published shortly after World War 2. If you have time let me know what you think of his logic.

CS Lewis' arguments are worth article or two in their own right. He has an argument from desire and another argument from morality that I'm aware of. I typically like to address particular forms of an argument since a small change in wording can make a large difference. Which would you like me to cover first?

Why don't you start with, "The law of human nature"? You don't have to post about it but it seems you enjoy these types of exercises, so go for it. Remind me somehow if it comes out. I recommend Quoting part of the text into the article if possible because not everyone has access to these lectures on "Mere Christianity."

I just had a quick skim. It's not really distilled into argument form and I'd rather not do that since that would insert my own misinterpretations.
The basic idea is that humans have a nature that understands right from wrong.
It appears to be an interesting lead into a variant of an argument from morality.
I'd rather stick with pure logic. If you come across a distilled form then please let me know.

I see what you mean. It is not pure logic. You have a humble approach to reasoning.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @eturnerx!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.756 which ranks you at #1449 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 57 places in the last three days (old rank 1506).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #58.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Oh man. This is over my head buddy. But I do believe only one god does exist. Just wanted to stop by and thank you for the continued support of my blog. With the price rising and then new 30% dish out of SBD for content creators, your support has been significant and I thank you for that! Have a great day from Pai Thailand- Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Congratulations @eturnerx! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1500 replies. Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

A Kiss for you <3 ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42