MADE BEAUTIFUL THROUGH BROKENNESS

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

KINTSUGI-

Kintsugi is the Japanese art of repairing broken pottery. The kintsugi artist believes it is through brokenness that we find true beauty. Kintsugi pottery is more valuable than other pottery, most repairs are done using gold or silver.

A RELEVANT METAPHOR-

We live in a throw away society, try to find a decent repairman, it can't be done. As a result, when something is broken we just get something new. It is unfortunate that this attitude is also taken into our relationships, as soon as we see a sign of trouble or discontent we are ready move on.

Perhaps we can learn from the kintsugi artist and find that brokenness can be repaired to be stronger and more beautiful than it originally was. I will admit that there are times in a relationship when the damage is beyond repair, when abuse or infidelities arise, but in most instances broken relationships can be salvaged.


image source


MY VERSION OF KINTSUGI-

Winter is hard on my garden, especially on ceramic pottery. The freeze and thaw cracks pots open and leaves them in pieces. For a time I simply accepted it and bought new ones, but then i had an idea. I would repair them.

STEP 1

This pot was broken into three pieces, I wish I had a photo, but I hadn't thought of using it as a post when I first started. What you see here is the pot being held together with tape as glue dries.

STEP 2

Once the glue was dry I removed the tape and began binding the pot with heavy wire. I guess I was too cheap to use gold and silver to fill in the cracks. I used plairs to twist and tighten the wire.d

STEP 3

I continued to wrap wire in a crisscrossing style, often making knots where the wires overlapped.

STEP 4

I set the finished pot back out in the garden where it is waiting for flowers and warmer weather. Soon my coffee cup will be resting beside it and the birds will be chirping. I will remember how it was broken and how much better it is now that its repaired.

NOTE: As a preventative measure to keep pots from braking line the inside with bubble wrap before you add dirt.

Sort:  

Hello @beginningtoend,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It has become a throw away society we live in. I like the Japanese idea, and more importantly what it symbolises. I think these type of cultural nuances seep it other areas of our existence, influencing our behaviour, even in a subconscious manner. Like you said about relationships.

To be able to see the beauty in these supposedly worn and damaged items is indicative of a matured and wiser viewpoint. It's kind of meditative - not rushing from one product to the next, one item to the next, or one friendship to the next. Whatever the case may be.

The beauty of life isn't out there in that next elusive "whatever". It's here, now, within us, and between us. Anyway, that's what I felt inspired to write after reading your post. :)

Thanks @naquoya, I think you hit it dead center. The grass may or may not be greener on the other side of the hill, so enjoy the grass under your feet right now, and if it is brown and full of weeds get to work fixing it.

I hope that pots gives you many years of great use now, with your repairs. And now it has a uniqueness, too, that is beautiful in its own way. It represents your care and thoughtfulness, too. This is a great standard for us to think about in our own gardens!

Thanks, love your avatar.

You're welcome. Glad you like my avatar. I eat a lot of dandelions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45