You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Perception II

in #philosophy6 years ago

I think this text of yours I can describe best as a "science poem". It was a pleasure to read. A masterpiece of yours.

Nearing myself the statements of what the Buddha said and what you explain here, I thought about "myself" and realized that I started to feel careful in the presence of people and try to avoid to label them as this and that. When I talk to friends and I say something like "you are an artist in your heart", it sounds kind of awkward to me and almost like a lie as I instantly think that even though there is truth to my observation this cannot be the full truth.

Also, when a friend tells about him/herself "I am a hypersensitive" I feel that even though I perceive it as true, at the same time I reject the totality of this perception of the self of my friend.

Sometimes this causes an inner conflict with me and then I try to stay in this realization that both is correct for the time she or he talks about. People always refer to a certain moment in time but then mistake it as something solidly built in them.

This underpins what you say about clinging to the perception and it's interpretation as something one doesn't want to lose.

Now, you perceive your reflection and know yourself, as long as you understand that you are not the reflection (appearance), but the origin of the reflection (essence).

Even this "essence" is not there as an entity, as the doctrine says, but to make one understand we need this term in order to understand all the other terms.

One of the most difficult things to experience is the strangeness of perceiving oneself. There is something inexplicably frightening about being alone with oneself in silence and facing this foreignness.

As a child I experienced such moments, but not as frightening, for example playing hide and seek under the blankets that we children had spread over the whole floor and hid underneath in the darkness. For very brief moments, I was struck by the absolute otherness and unreality of this situation. The best way to describe it was to have the feeling that I didn't exist under the table. Not for fear of not being found, because I knew they would find me. It was like a brief flash of a truth that I neither questioned nor analyzed at the time, but merely felt. At that moment I had learned that I was not myself and that I had met someone/thing absolutely foreign.

At the beginning I said that the All cannot be perceived from the outside, from where can it be perceived then? From nowhere, the All is not perceptible, because to perceive there must be two things, object and subject, and since there is nothing outside the All, the All is imperceptible. In addition, we ourselves are part of the All, and to want to perceive the All is to commit the same mistake that to want to perceive ourselves. This is why the Buddha says that the All is perception, for that is the only All that can be described.

Fantastic. The Buddha showed an intelligence (or has been used for the intelligence progression of the Buddhists) that meets modern standards. ... Or ... just something occasionally shines through humans which try to understand that they don't know anything.

All this can be quite confusing.
To integrate this kind of knowledge in ones life, I guess, the 8full path is a clever one. I haven't made up my mind though.

Thank you for sharing this thoughts of yours. Did it all come out in once?

Sort:  

"Sciencie poem", that sounds like a very good way of say philosophy.

The words are immensely powerful. After you express something that is always there in your head. It is a way to "immortalize" something, so to speak. That's why we have to be careful with the judgments that we made and expressed, and is for this that I always try to make it clear that "maybe I'm wrong" or that "it is not carved in stone", although I don't really believe that that works a lot.

The truth is that if you say that a person or a thing is in such a way, every time you see it you will be looking to confirm or refute that judgment.

Even this "essence" is not there as an entity, as the doctrine says, but to make one understand we need this term in order to understand all the other terms.

The Orientals say that there is no essence, they are speaking in a subjective way, in the first person, and since they can't perceive the "essence", they don't see the usefulness of the term. Westerners say that the only thing that exists is essence, they are speaking objectively, in the second person, and although they don't perceive the "essence", they refer to it as what perceive. The first say that everything changes, the second that nothing does, even so, both are right. At least I think so.

It was like a brief flash of a truth that I neither questioned nor analyzed at the time, but merely felt. At that moment I had learned that I was not myself and that I had met someone/thing absolutely foreign.

Ha, that happened to me, it's like a disconnection. Although you describe it better.

For my scale it is the other way around, I see the ancients much more intelligent than the moderns, at least in these matters.

Did it all come out in once?

Yes it did, but I forgot it. Then I tried to remember it and I could not. So I started writing it without remembering it and I remembered it little by little. In the end I remembered and I started it again.

Thanks to you for stopping by, and for the kind comment, as always, greetings.

Interesting information:

The Orientals say that there is no essence, they are speaking in a subjective way, in the first person, and since they can't perceive the "essence", they don't see the usefulness of the term. Westerners say that the only thing that exists is essence, they are speaking objectively, in the second person, and although they don't perceive the "essence", they refer to it as what perceive. The first say that everything changes, the second that nothing does, even so, both are right. At least I think so.

I did not hear that in this clear distinction. I listen a lot to the statement that there is no "essence" and I like to play with that thought. It causes me more interest then the Westerners saying. It reminds me on the ongoing argument between a good friend of mine and me and this is exactly the "dispute". Laughter! I know, both are right. It finally dawned on me.

Ha, that happened to me, it's like a disconnection.

Glad that you can confirm this experience, too. Any details about it? :)

Yes it did, but I forgot it. Then I tried to remember it and I could not. So I started writing it without remembering it and I remembered it little by little. In the end I remembered and I started it again.

That made me laugh! I find it really amusing how you describe here your writing process. Been there, too.

Any details about it? :)

Sorry. Only vague memories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44