You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do Moral and Ethical values really matter?

in #philosophy6 years ago

Yes, I nodded to almost everything you pointed out. Thank you for taking me here.
Strength is only strength if it is taken on in a weak moment or a time of threat or uncertainty. Yes, again.

Though I am not in too much sympathy for having wars for independence gaining. I'd rather have a diplomatic solution. I know, not always diplomatic lead to success but then again we don't talk much about those cases where high diplomacy was victorious. We love stories of war and heroism. That produces figures who often enough mistake their narcissistic tendencies as seeing themselves as liberators of the poor and disadvantaged. I myself put most grand scale solutions under suspicion. I am in favor of small-scale solutions which people can handle themselves and not have always to rely on those who were sent to fix problems.

In regards to values, I think all humans carry the same. Not to steal, to kill, to betray, to gossip, but to be of service and not a nuisance to others and so on. These virtues nobody wants to be hurt when it comes to the personal experience. As many people are brainwashed by media and take on too much "information" (mostly negative crap) they pick bad role models as if it is state of the art to be proud of having betrayed the state (like tax fraud or other forms of abusing the system). Which in itself is a stupid thing because there is no entity which is a "state".

We all are the state and should seek for good practice and good examples who teach us and who serve as an orientation. I cannot blame politicians to be corrupt when I take on their attitudes and give them assurance that their behavior is right. Everyone learns from everyone but it depends where I look and put my focus on.

People look very closely to see if someone is suitable as a role model. If there is even one mistake or moral misconduct in this person, he is no longer suitable as an ideal leader. That is why religious faith exists in my view because ideal models were created in the form of Jesus, Buddha or Mohammed, which were considered to be of integrity and we urgently need them in order to recognize the yardstick by which we orient ourselves. Since all people are flawed, we need the symbols and the power of those who are not.

I do not know Bolivar but if he serves you well and guides you through your life with his example I shell be fine with it.

Sending my best wishes to you.

Sort:  

I'm pretty much in agreement with everything you said.

I don't believe that there is anyone who has a particular affection for war, and I am also a supporter of solutions that involve two people shaking hands, although the latter don't have as much prominence when going down in history. My allusive message to wars is that, even at the moment of facing death, of the greatest dangers and adversities, people must cling to their values. If a person changes his way of being simply not to die, then he will no longer be the same, because his body will be intact but his soul will be executed.

"We are all the State" It's a statement with which I disagree, although that could be another completely different topic.

Bolívar is not my guide and he is not a saint either, although I like to mention it because people outside of South America know little about its history, so it can be a good example in many aspects that people don't know about.

I know that you have the best wishes, thanks for passing, and I wish you the same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46