You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Philosophy of Thanos

in #philosophy5 years ago

Thanos' approach about saving the universe seems really Malthusian, controlling overpopulation by killing the population is really radical, in some way effective but I don't think that anyone with a little piece of empathy in their souls would attempt that, and I don't think The Avengers response of this crisis is wrong at all, self-preservation is a primary instinct, it is an obstacle for Thanos' view because it makes a conflict with his doomsday prophecy but in reality the destruction of galactic civilization is just a path it doesn't have to be a set reality, thanks for sharing these thoughts this is really interesting!


This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 to 24 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in a reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@elfranz#3985). A personal perspective from the author add great value and makes it so much fun!

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Franz (@curie curator)

Sort:  

I would love for @curie to feature my post in their upcoming article. Thanks so much for the opportunity :)

I'm not great with self promotion but I'll give it a shot.

Having been born in the mid 80's I kind of grew up watching movies and television. As such, I often view movies as something that goes beyond basic entertainment. In a way I've sort of come to view them as the myths of our time. Though many movies at first seem trivial, some ask challenging philisophical questions and/or provide insight into the common discourses taking place in society today. This is how I viewed the the most recent movies by Marvel (I.e. "Infinity War" and "End Game"). In a subtle (or maybe not so subtle) way, the movie asks the viewer some big questions about the human species and how they think we should address some of the issues in society today. I'd love for you to check out my post and share your ideas on how we should move forward as a species on this planet that we call home.

Note: that's a bit long and a bit cheesy. I'll leave it up to your judgement if you want to use it or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49