Becoming The Dragon

My greatest intrigue and aim has always been--and I trust will always be--to attempt to see things as they really are, and not as the distortions of the rest of the world often make them seem.

It seems to be necessarily a function of who I am, but I have only in recent years finally honed and developed this part of me.

One of my favorite things to do is examine basic assumptions in everyday thought (starting with my own mind), common world-views and espoused values taken for granted, as well as unexamined cultural memes.

I am the sort that often will do this with plain and precise language when I'm serious, but I also love to be blunt and use harsh humor at times to convey an absurdity I think I detect.


I love to challenge the average person's thinking, and often I will even challenge many who imagine themselves to be resistant, against-the-grain sorts of creatures. Many who imagine they've escaped the herd still hold very commonplace inconsistencies that prop up the beliefs they hold to--beliefs they imagine make them unique (and therefore superior) among others.

I love to expose false dichotomies.

There are many areas of thought where there is a propagandized presentation of two sides of thought, meant to create the illusion that those are the only two options to choose from in reality. I attempt to sift out these false dichotomies anywhere in reality I can, and point out the fact that an immense and expansive world often stands far outside that world.

In order to think outside the box, you have to first ask if you are in one, and if you are, you must figure out how big it is and how far you must go before you will be outside of it. In our life, there are a hundred boxes we could be inside. You might get outside of one box, but still be in another, and so on.

I aim to realize, explore, and leave behind the boxes in order to better understand the world and what is true or what is not.

While over-simplified and under-examined, the term "Question Everything" has never meant more to me than it does now, and than it has in recent years.


My love of dragons began as a love of the artwork that expressed their design and majesty. That love grew into a love of the mythical portrayal of them as super-sentient, wise, ancient beings; beings that used their immense power for the defense of all good, and so were a threat to human warlords who wanted to get away with violently ruling/enslaving mankind.

I became a bit of a nerd with all things dragon-related, since I already loved fantasy art and the stories of dragons, so it spawned a fun habit among family and friends to be called "The Dragon" on occasion.

I then began considering the power of using the dragon as a sort of symbol-- the symbol of what a human can grow to become through their own journey in this world.

Allow me to elaborate on that a bit..

~*~


Engaging with the world leads to growth, growth leads to wisdom,

wisdom is represented by the dragon in flight, symbolically.

What does that mean?

Humans share the remarkable ability to refine who we are, refine our ideas, and take better actions that more effectively help us reach our goals and desires.

Wisdom gained from refining our ideas and beliefs--wisdom which improves our own selves and the lives of others--becomes our WINGS.

Wisdom is our best ideas/beliefs about reality in flight,

that is, in motion, reaching the world around us.


Humans act based on what they believe is true about reality, based on their programmed assumptions (self-programmed or otherwise), and so it matters the quality or truth of what it is humans believe.

When we begin to see things as they are and act in accordance with that reality, acting on carefully thought out ideas, ideas that empower, inspire and motivate us, we are wisdom in action.

We become the dragons.

We all begin as the human child, ignorant of the world around us. Neither I, nor you, need remain that way.

We can build our entire beings into something wise, something powerful in the ability to expand what is most good.

We can become the dragon, and our ideas grow to become our wings.

~*~

Sort:  

Steemit.. where even dragons are anarchists!

Laughing. so. hard.
Thanks for that!

Yeah, it makes me laugh every time. It's great for comic relief. Keep up the good work!

hahaha thats so funny :)

I like that you say you challenge people who feel outside the normal patterns. I find too often people can get stuck in a way of thinking, which even if aside from the normal, doesn't promote the "challenge everything" approach.

I tend to question my motives and intent, maybe too much as I can appear indecisive lol. I enjoyed your post. Thank you.

Thank you!

I can relate to indecisiveness for sure, but I am becoming less that way. It think it comes with the reality that once you constantly are refining yourself, you begin to figure out what the foundations of YOU really are, and so you become steady and planted in the right things, the truth, and in effective action that moves you forward.

You question the basic principles less, because they are already in alignment, and you move to a level of operating fully and automatically in that alignment.

I hope that makes sense. :)

Damn! I can't think of anything terrible to say! I see the importance of confidence in one's own point of view, on STEEMIT - this post embodies that, while providing a STEEMIT users a productive mindset. Very nice.

I have suggestion .. not a sarcastic one ! You may have already done this, or are doing it, but there are very large numbers of people in the science-fiction and fantasy realm, who are highly-receptive to his message. They are people who are often brilliant and very often lack-fundamental confidence, who would rather find a home within worlds created by others, than to express themselves as individuals.

You should present at conventions! These people are also very much in need of political compass - they think what the world needs is a benign monarch! They understand the need to maximize free expression and association .. and would be great additions to the anarchist ranks.

Incidentally, they are a hell of a lot of fun to get loaded with. :-)

Cheers!

I like that thought, and actually, a lot of my close friends are huge fantasy/convention type nerds already, so I have been close to that world for some time. Nerds are the best to drink/smoke/play fucked-up card games with...

:) Some of the best nights I have had.

Good article. I always viewed the dragon as bad, since it's often viewed that way, at least in the mainstream literature and Hollywood movies. I'm glad I turned out wrong. Good piece.

I've been wondering this since I first discovered you on Facebook. I never expected an answer that had much more depth than "I like dragons, I guess." That is in no way meant to be an insult. I'm just so impressed by your explanation.

We can build our entire beings into something wise, something powerful in the ability to expand what is most good.

I love this so much.

Thank you so much! I love that you enjoyed what I had to say. And yes, I am a person of depth, so very few things are simply "well, I just like that thing cause...whatever." lol

Shall we take the blue pill or the red pill?!

They're both from the same pharmaceutical company.

XD Timely Wonderful article thanks Dragon Anarchist

Very few can accept the truth when challenged. Hateful defenses flare up. Sometimes though, after the immediate feeling of threat is proceesef, change is possible. :)

oh yes! great post
always question everything..i know, for me, it can sometimes be easy to get sucked in with fallacious arguments especially when the emotions are targeted
i also have a huge love for dragons,had a large back piece tattoo of a traditional chinese dragon on my 40th birthday to symbolize wisdom and longevity
thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43